Steem Women Club Community: Chain of Goodness Event / Charity Event for Street Children and Less Fortunate Families

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

As the motto of SteemWomen Club, “Love multiplies when it is shared.” Let me share with you my first-hand experience of how giving touches one's life and was made through all because of Steemit.

5F80AC84-EDE9-4DF4-AF3B-82778FFCF92E.jpeg

Upon reading some posts about Charity Events in this community, it inspired me to also share with you my one unforgettable event where I volunteered in a “charity event” organized by my Steemit friends in Cebu City, Philippines. This was years ago but for me, this is very timely and relevant for people to also know how it felt after you shared with less fortunate people. This Charity event was for the street children and the less fortunate families. The idea to launch the charity was from my kindhearted friend @indayclara, who personally knew and witnessed the situation of those street children. Her dormitory was just a walking distance from her school and often times met those children on her way home after class.

As a father, I always prioritize the needs and safety of my kids. Knowing how difficult their situation is, the moment team @steemph.cebu approved the idea of organizing such charity, I didn't hesitate to help and volunteer, even in exchange from my absence from work.

How did we raise the funds for the event? The moment my friend @indayclara presented the proposal of the said charity, without faltering our steemit friends came up the idea of donating sbd’s to raise the needed funds. Indeed, “we decided to donate both sbd’s and pocket money”, anything that we can share, may it be food or in-kind... all from Steemian sponsors. You can never know philanthropists are just a chat away unless you try to tap them.

BEE54102-13B4-481A-91F8-FE117B2B59C1.jpeg

The Charity Venue

Ladies Dormitory

The said event was held at the gym of a ladies dormitory run by Nuns. We were very grateful to the Nuns who had also helped us to make the event made possible. Upon arriving at the said venue, you could see how excited they were to meet us. Some waited for our arrival at the gate of the dormitory, while other children lineup by the roadway waiting for us. That's why when we are about to start, my co-volunteers has to help find the kids first who were then out of the street. Yeah, that part there was really funny! When the kids were found, they still have to take a bath first upon the advice from the Nuns, for them to also look presentable and be ready for the program.

My unforgettable experience,

FFB9ACB3-37BC-457C-811E-A730543EC09B.jpeg

For the first part of the program, was the coloring contest. This way they can show their art skills.

8757AB4F-DE42-4CEC-8DAC-68DA8A0CBAA9.jpeg

But what caught my attention was a child with bandages in a corner. So I asked one of the Nuns if she knew what happens to the child. Sadly, the child had a traumatic “hit and run” by the taxi the other night.

D0CA7278-B414-4328-B1F6-090F4A05BB02.jpeg

There was another child, who was already in her teenage, I wonder why at first she didn't participate and just remained silent. So I went to her and asked her to join with other kids in the activities. As I asked her name. Hesitant to answer, she said, “My name is Princess”. At her age, I was curious what was in her mind, that made her look so aloof and lonely. Of course, I was not there to make her dream come true, but at least to see her smile at a moment was another thing.

I remembered how hard It was to befriend her. At last, she finally opened and shared with me her sadness, “ I miss my mama, she said, ” she died when she delivered my younger brother, there we both lost them.” Hearing her soft voice, I almost give in. I was about to lose control of my emotion. I never expected to share her sadness at that instant. I was struck by the sadness seen through her eyes. She said for a moment she stayed alone with her father, but later for some reason, she only knew, also I refrain from asking further, she left the place and opted to stay out in the street. Her story left a remarkable impact on me. It was my first time talking to a child so lonely that I can't forget her face all those years.

527CD8AF-D5FA-4AE8-BFB9-A6D40F9ADA27.jpeg

3years old Baby Lyka, the youngest among them was already independent at her age

BEE07B0A-E7D2-4F4A-B9B7-B917BC6C3540.jpeg

17D0AB8F-53C8-4FDE-8D66-E36798DBC122.jpeg

While playing basketball and parlor games, they loudly laughed and cheered for their team.

36BCFDA4-828D-43BD-8CA1-846A0411F803.jpeg

2A692D56-464A-4B98-9C67-54BB54771A2F.jpeg

Then we distributed the foods to them. We did serve them to let them feel their existence is valuable. As I watch them digging in the food that we've served, reflecting on their stories, I realized how difficult their life is. They have to suffer the fierceness of the sun at day, let alone the biting cold night. Who will take care of them when they got sick? What future awaits them on the street?

72CEAFAD-CFBD-44A9-BE0E-0606129B1E28.jpeg

5F7A761A-6366-49F8-B8B6-B0FCC2C13B69.jpeg

Last part of the program, distribution of there giveaways ( groceries,school bags, slippers, clothes, blankets, toys.)

This act of goodness was done years ago, but it was a lifelong experience for us who participated in the said event. Until now, the smile on their faces remains fresh in my mind. It made me long for another event. That's how sharing of goodness does in my life!

I hope my experience of sharing inspired friends to also share and do good things in their means. You can never tell how great the experience is until you do it yourself.


Lastly, I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to this community @steemwomensclub for giving my a chance to share my Charity experience. To @steemitblog, @steemcurator01, @booming and @cryptokannon, thank you so much for your constant support.

B55CA7BB-946E-4A8E-B007-E5F02270A8B6.jpeg

Sincerely,
@juichi

Sort:  

Please help me saving my Dad. It's very urgent. Kindly resteem and upvote my post. It will be of great help.https://steemit.com/steemit/@shital7/my-whole-world-has-been-shattered-just-in-a-day-please-save-my-dad

Hello has been chosen as the quality post of the day.

Thank you so much @steemwomensclub, I hope this story will influence my fellow Steemians to support and participate in charities especially for children.

Thank you very much @steemcurator01 and @steemwomansclub for your constant support.🙏

 3 years ago 

congrats sir. It's a great work

Thank you ma'am @jenesa.

Please help. It's urgent. Just upvote and resteem as much as possible. It is a matter of my Dad's life. Please help me. Just upvote my post https://steemit.com/steemit/@shital7/my-whole-world-has-been-shattered-just-in-a-day-please-save-my-dad

 3 years ago 

congrats! magpost nya ko sunod.hhehe maka inspire!

Hello @junebride, thank you so much..naa gyud ka diha sa manga pics.

Happy family here...

Thank you for resteeming my post sir @blaogao.

Wowwww!!! Congratulations sir!!! Such a great work 🇵🇭🇵🇭🇵🇭

Ma'am @rosevillariasa, thank you so much!

@juichi felicitaciones, esos momentos donde compartimos lo que tenemos con otros que mas lo necesitan se vuelven parte de nuestras mas grandes satisfacciones y bellos recuerdos.

Es cierto, compartamos el amor con los necesitados. ¡Muchas gracias!

@juichi excelente trabajo. Felicitaciones ojalá pudieras continuar siempre hay quienes necesitan de una mano amiga

Muchas gracias, algún día organizaremos este tipo de caridad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42