This is How I Celebrated Sinhala & Tamil New Year | 14th Apr 2021 | Happy moments 🥰

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago

Hello Ladies,

It's the New Year in Sri Lanka, yes don't be surprised, we have a different date to celebrate the new year other than 01st of January. This is more of a traditional way of celebrating the new year and all the timings are prepared according to the Astrology. The concept behind the astrology timings is to do all the good things at one auspicious time as a nation. Hence we have the timings to eat, work, bath and even to see the new moon.

Cover.jpg

All these ideology might be confusing since its a tradition for a different culture. So I will show you how a typical Sri Lankan spend this very special day.

Usually all the members of the family get to gather to their parents house to celebrate new year. Last year we all locked down in our home due to covid and this year was extra special to meet everyone. So I went to my parents home at village on 13th early morning.

1.gif
Going to my village on highway

In the next day early morning new year began at 02.33am with thousands of firecrackers announce the new year all across the country. The next event was the one is really important for ladies, because that is when the fire can be lighted in the kitchen. Usually we take new pots to cook the first meal. So, I have prepared all the necessary thing for my mother to light the hearth.

IMG_3148.JPG
Milk pot is ready for the auspicious time

The time to light the hearth was at 6:17am and my mother asked me to do the tradition. Usually mother is the one who does this as she is the head of the kitchen. I was really humbled and privileged to lighten up the first light in my home ❤️

IMG_3150.JPG
Lighting the hearth

IMG_3154.JPG
We respect our meals by worshiping like this

Whole family waited until the milk boil over from the pot from every side because Sri Lankans believes that is a sign of prosperity for entire year. I was excited until it happens because I was the one who light up the hearth. Luckily and as expected it was a good flow in the end.

IMG_3160.JPG

IMG_3164.JPG

Then everyone helped to prepare the meal for the next event. Preparing milk rice along with some delicacies is the usual way.

IMG_3165.JPG

IMG_3174.JPG

After that we prepared the dinning table for the next event at 07.41am. After we pass this auspicious time we can eat our first meal in the new year and also, we can commence the work we do and do the money transaction between each other.

IMG_3166.JPG

IMG_3188.JPG

We fed each other with so much joy.

IMG_3180.JPG

IMG_3183.JPG

Then I gave a present to my mother,

IMG_3192.JPG

At around 10.00am we were relaxed and it was time to visit the relatives. So we went to our grand mother's home for lunch. I was amazed by her garden and I took a few pictures of the some water plants.

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

11.jpg

14.jpg

She had invited all the relatives to her home that day and we had so much fun playing new year games all day.

15.jpg

20.jpg

13.jpg

When it was night we light up some firecrackers and played games until midnight.

2.gif

3.gif

4.gif

So that is how I spend my whole day and it was so much fun.

Good Bye & Stay safe everyone!

#steemwomenclub #newyear2021 #steemexclusive #srilanka #steemoriginal

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by randulakoralage, a Country Representative from Sri Lanka. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78