Steem Women Club Contest #19 | Local Dress Promotion | @graciee20

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

Greetings, dear beautiful and adorable women of steemwomen club community and to you dear Steemian. How are you doing? I trust you're doing great.

Today, I feel so excited participating in this community newest contest; Steem women club contest #19 - Local Dress Promotion.
IMG-20210608-WA0019.jpg

I am from Igbo, the Eastern part of my country, Nigeria. In Nigeria, we wear different complete traditional clothing fashions and most times dress in lace materials and adorn it with beautiful cultural accessories like the coral beads depending on the occasion or event one is attending.
IMG-20210608-WA0018.jpg
In recent times, during a traditional marriage ceremony of a young woman, she dresses in a beautifully made lace attire; It could be wrapped round her waist with a blouse to match and it could be made gown. Which ever way it's made, the lace attire will then be adorned with a headscarf known as gele and some coral beads on the neck and on both wrists. Sometimes the headscarf is substituted for coral beads on the neatly styled hair.
IMG_20210606_114940_975.jpg

IMG_20200920_133113_6.jpg

IMG-20210608-WA0011.jpg

lace-based clothes can be worn with accessories like the coral beads. We have various designs and quality laces in Nigeria and their prices differs. I made this beautiful lace gown with 3 yards of lace material and each yard is worth about 7.5 Steem and the 3 yards is about 22.5 Steem.

The coral beads

Corals beads are made from red corals. The main feature of valuable corals is their red or bright pink skeleton colour. A precious coral is more popular than any other gem in Nigeria. It is preferred for its fantastic colour which suits any outfit. In some Nigerian states, coral beads are a symbol of royalty, power, wealth and beauty.
Women all over the world like wearing beads to accentuate their beauty and uniqueness, especially on special occasions like weddings. In Nigeria, both men and women wear expensive beads on their wedding day. It is a very old tradition that has been passed on for many centuries.
IMG-20210608-WA0010.jpg
This is me wearing a beautifully made lace gown and adorned with coral beads on my head and both hands. I took this picture in Church 3 days ago during our traditional Service. Coral beads comes in different sizes and shapes and they are quite expensive in this part of the world. The beads are worth about 15 Steem.

Gele

IMG-20210608-WA0021.jpg
This is me and my Steemian friend @avrich at the Traditional Service in Church. We worship in the same Church and on her head is the cultural headscarf (gele)and she's dressed in her fashionably styled lace gown.

Gele is a traditional Nigerian cloth that is wrapped by women on their head. A gele is a large headscarf that is worn as a fashion accessory or an ornamental head covering in various occasions. Even though it can be worn daily, there are elaborate geles which the Nigerian women wear on numerous events like church activities and weddings. They are made using firm materials, and in wedding ceremonies, they can cover a woman’s hair and even her ears leaving the face and earrings exposed.
This gele she's wearing here is worth about 10 Steem.

@steemwomensclub, this is my entry for #steemwomenclubcontest19.

Thank you and see you alo on my next posts. Have a great day ahead!

I invite my friends, @nneoma08, @avrich, @jovita30, @beewrites, @irene-hic and @tenguhatanga to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@graciee20
You and your steemian friend looks beautiful in your gele. This is one of the reasons I will love to visit Nigeria one day
Do invite me during a traditional wedding and if am free am will love to meet my steemians friends there in Nigeria .
#twopercent
#cameroon

 3 years ago 

Wow
We would love to have you visit Nigeria soonest. Yeah sure, I won't forget to invite you for my traditional wedding. It will be an honor to have you around. Thank you so much dear friend @monjuapollonia

 3 years ago 

@graciee20
You are most welcome!
Can't wait to be a guest in a honouring occasion 💃💃❣️
#twopercent
#cameroon

Beautiful attire.
You look good ma'am

 3 years ago 

Thank you dear @mimiiotuka

wonderful contest, well written

 3 years ago 

Thank you @jueco

You look stunning ma

 3 years ago 

Wow
Please tell me more about the stunning look @b-blinks

You looks beautiful ma

 3 years ago 

Thank you @zara20

 3 years ago 

Wow I really admire the cora beads and those gele are really beautiful.
Igbo tribe has a very beautiful attire and its lovely. Well, I'm Yoruba and from my place we use aso oke as head gear, its lovely too.

 3 years ago 

Nice dearie @ebunoluwani. I love the Yoruba aso oke gele a lot. Please what's aso oke price worth in STEEM?

You look elegant in this your beautiful attire @graciee20

 3 years ago 

Oh really! Thank you so much @rich9090. So what exactly do you like about my attire

Everything dear

 3 years ago 

You look so beautiful 😍 adaeze

 3 years ago 

Thank so much my dear @ammyy

 3 years ago 

Nice entry. Wonderful outfit. Thank you for sharing

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much ma'am @ngoenyi

 3 years ago 

These Nigerian ladies will not kill someone with their beautiful outfits!! You all look gorgeous in those stores. @graciee20 I couldn't make you out in that dress oohhh. All the beads stuff are superb on you. Nice entry and good luck for the contest
#twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

😂🤣 now you make me laugh loud. Thank you so much dear friend @tenguhatanga. I can't wait for you to show me some cultural attire worn in Cameroon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40