I'mSTEEMWOMENCLUB CONTEST #22= COOKING CHALLENGE- COOK YOUR TRADITIONAL DISH: COCONUT RICE BY @goodybest

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

Polish_20210704_055830559.png

Good afternoon lovely women!

I believed all the amazing women in this wonderful community are having a wonderful weekend. My name is good news and I'm from Nigeria, Akwa Ibom State in particular. I want to cease this opportunity to say thank you to @cryptokraze and @event-horizon for sponsoring and organizing an amazing contest like this.

We have so many traditional dishes in my state ranging from Afang soup, Atama soup, Editan soup, Ekpangnkukwo, Ekpang mboro, Jellof Rice to Coconut Rice etc.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvUUZFyfywYwEk6joAVnsCM6V6RCHPrhVTMDuqXyQBmPQATuHWaCAYWDjWBfJ196S6V4rmyNuDirhYGvJ.png

But today I'm going to intimate you with how to prepare coconut rice!

Polish_20210704_064958582.png

Coconut rice is always a favourite dish in numerous homes, events, and parties, here in Nigeria. The rich coconut test and Aroma normally made guests to asked for more. Some people used to add fresh tomatoes or stew to it but I personally don't like it, I cooked mine with only coconut because I want to have that distinctive coconut taste.
Ok enough of the chit chat let's get into the cooking!

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvUUZFyfywYwEk6joAVnsCM6V6RCHPrhVTMDuqXyQBmPQATuHWaCAYWDjWBfJ196S6V4rmyNuDirhYGvJ.png

INGREDIENTS:

Screenshot_20210704-012128.png

  • COCONUT
  • RICE
  • MEAT
  • CRAY FISH
  • ONIONS
  • FRESH PEPPER
  • SEASONING CUBES
  • SALT
  • BONGA FISH
  • CARROTS
  • GREEN PEPPER
  • GREEN BEANS

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvUUZFyfywYwEk6joAVnsCM6V6RCHPrhVTMDuqXyQBmPQATuHWaCAYWDjWBfJ196S6V4rmyNuDirhYGvJ.png

PRE- PREPARATION:

  1. Crack the coconuts open and use a small knife to scrape out the inner meat from the shell as shown below 👇
  • Wash and grate the coconut meat using grater (alternatively you can chop the coconut into tiny piece and blend it, adding few cups of warm water)
  • Add warm water to the grated coconut, turn it and sieve out the coconut milk keep the coconut milk aside

(2) Wash, seasoning and cook the meat to tender and keep it aside

(3) Wash and parboil the rice for 10-15 Mins, leave it drain in a sieve.

(4) Grind your Crayfish and Bonga fish and keep aside.
(5) Chop your onions and keep.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvUUZFyfywYwEk6joAVnsCM6V6RCHPrhVTMDuqXyQBmPQATuHWaCAYWDjWBfJ196S6V4rmyNuDirhYGvJ.png

Now to cook coconut rice:

  • pour in the parboiled rice into a large pot
  • add the meat, grounded Crayfish and Bonga fish, pepper, salt and seasoning cubes

IMG_20210703_195137_739.jpg

  • pour the set aside coconut milk into the pot and make sure the liquid in the pot is at the same level with the rice in the pot

IMG_20210703_195411_415.jpg

  • Now cover and leave the rice to cook on medium heat.
  • Chop your green beans & pepper and carrots
    and keep for garnishment!

IMG_20210704_143939_037.jpg

  • Add chopped onions when it starts simmering

IMG_20210703_201714_634.jpg

  • Allow the rice to cook until the liquid in pot dried up!

IMG_20210703_203146_640.jpg

Boom!! Boom!! Your Coconut Rice is Ready!!

IMG_20210703_204539_077.jpg

Screenshot_20210704-015544.png
2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvUUZFyfywYwEk6joAVnsCM6V6RCHPrhVTMDuqXyQBmPQATuHWaCAYWDjWBfJ196S6V4rmyNuDirhYGvJ.png
You really need to try out coconut rice because is one of the most delicious and healthy dish. Coconut is highly nutritious, it contain protein and numerous minerals and a bit of B Vitamins. Coconut are significantly high in mangnese which is vital for metabolism, bone Health, and cholesterols. It has antioxidants properties too which will help to protect our cells. This is one of the reason so much love this my traditional dish. I love you all! And yes you can tell me at the comment section if you like my traditional dish.

Polish_20210704_012946466.png

I'm inviting my friends @eliany @gracyakan @vickydear @emyekanem to join in this contest

Here is my introductory post link

Cc:
@steemwomensclub
@svm038
@ngoenyi
@cryptokraze
@event-horizon

Polish_20210704_085553397.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I love coconut rice @goodybest, will you like me to come eat with you because the meal is so delicious

 3 years ago 

Yes yes @ijelady ma'am, the meal is still available so you come over and get yours. Thank you so much for your nice commendations and for visiting my blog, I appreciate it!

 3 years ago 

Thank you beloved sister

 3 years ago 

🥰🥰🥰 you're welcome ma'am 😆

 3 years ago 

Wow. This dish is very rich

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much @irene-hic I really appreciate your visit to my blog, we're stronger together 💪

 3 years ago 

Wow this is looks yummy, thank you for sharing how to prepare coconut rice with us, we are strong together.

 3 years ago 

You're welcome @eliany dear we're surely stronger together 💪, thanks for visiting my blog.

 3 years ago 

You are welcome @goodybest

 3 years ago 

Yummy yummy I'm salivating bring my own fast

 3 years ago 

Sure @gracyakan please come and eat!

Mhhhh, am already perceiving the aroma.

 3 years ago 

Hahahaha! Please come and eat! Thanks for visiting my blog! I really appreciate

 3 years ago 

This looks yummy.
That's a great job ma

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much @patience90, I appreciate your visit to my blog!

 3 years ago 

Wow!!!! This is so palatable, and i believe you have keep my own for me because I'm on my way, please keep up, I wish you success

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much@vickydear, sure I kept your own for you, thank you for visiting my blog I really appreciate you!

 3 years ago 

Let me bring plate,what a nice cooking

 3 years ago 

Aww thank you so much for your nice commendations @beautybb please come fast because the food will soon finish

 3 years ago 

On my way

 3 years ago 

Okay 😁😁😁 you're welcome in advance

Awwwwwwwwwnnn!

It looks so yummy and interesting in fact am famished I wish to have mine.

 3 years ago 

It's still available @akam-theresa so you can come and get your share. I really appreciate your nice commendations, thank you ☺️

start success go! go! go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13