Meatless Recipe- Tufo Sisig

Hello to all strong and amazing women!

I didn't know that I can also share my food methodology in this community. I'm so happy to know it because I love to cook.

Have you tasted a Filipino cuisine called Sisig? It originated in Pampanga, a province in the island of Luzon. Traditionally, the meat that they use is pork. Then,as time goes by, a lot of versions are made. It could be chicken, tuna, and other fish.

IMG20210508121546.jpg

In this article, I’ll be sharing you a delicious vegetarian counterpart— Tufo Sisig. It tastes so good without the guilt.

IMG20210508120850-01.jpeg

Preparing this dish has two parts— frying the tufo and making the sauce.

Before we proceed, here are some cooking tips.

• Tufo have varieties— soft, firm, extra firm. Choose the firm or extra firm.
• To get rid of excess water inside the tufo, press it and pat dry using paper towels. This will make the tufo crispier.
• The flavor of this dish comes from the sauce. You can add or reduce the ingredients, according to your preference. Add more chili if you want it to be extra hot and spicy, or use lesser if you want it milder. In this recipe, I lessened the chili because a lot of my housemates, even me, have acid reflux problem.

Let’s start, shall we?

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large block of firm Tufo
  • 4 tsbp Mayonnaise
  • 2 ½ tsp light Soy Sauce
  • 1 pc calamansi or lime, squeeze the juice
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 green chili, chopped
  • Cooking Oil

PROCEDURE:

• Fry the tufo until golden brown and set aside. Having a deep or air fryer is an advantage. In our house, since we don’t have either of these equipments, I fry the tofu in large but thin blocks and cut into small cubes after letting it to cool down. It is easier and faster that way. Plus, the tufo can absorb the sauce more because not all sides are fried.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

• For the sauce, in a small bowl, mix mayonnaise, soy sauce, lime juice, ground black pepper. You can add cayenne if you want additional kick, but I skipped that part for the reason that I said earlier.

Snapseed (3).jpg

• In a pan, drizzle little amount of oil and saute onion for 30 seconds, then green chili pepper for 15 seconds.

Snapseed (4).jpg

• Add the sauce and mix well.
• Throw in the fried tufo and stir until all cubes are well coated.

Snapseed (5).jpg

• Transfer into a nice serving bowl, or if you have one, on a sizzling plate. Enjoy!

IMG20210508120858-01.jpeg

It’s actually my first time to do this dish. I’m glad that everybody loves it especially the kids.

IMG20210508121616-01.jpeg

Thank You for visiting my post! 🙂
All photos are mine.

Sort:  

hi ;

You have been chosen for quality posts in the Steem women club community. Keep sharing quality articles in the community :)

Wow, thank you very much for appreciating my work 😊
Yes, I'm so motivated. More Power to this community!

Increíble se ve muy fácil y muuuy rica, gracias por compartirla. Saludos y bendiciones...

thank you for appreciating it, I wish I could give you some so you can try it 😊

I like toufu. This looks simple enough to make.

i love tufo also. Yes it's so simple and have minimal ingredients., even kids can prepare this 😊

Wow! This looks so good! You are a really good cook! I would love to be your neighbor! LoL

haha, not really. I just like simple but delicious recipes 😅

Esta genial tu receta, te felicito por tan excelente contenido y gracias por compartirlo con nosotras. Saludos.

This looks so yummy @el-dee-are-es. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

thank you for appreciating girl 😊

Muy buena tu receta amiga, me gusto.

¡Se me muy delicioso!
Saludos desde Venezuela

So yummy. Wish I can have a taste of it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44