Porcini in New Zealand

in SteemWomen Club2 years ago

This weekend I had a proper rest after a hectic week at work. Those precious moments help me regain positive energy in life. I knew exactly what I wanted to do on my weekend so I had arranged to do all housework in just 1 hour on Saturday morning.

Right after that, I headed up to a mountain near my place to find the pretty mushrooms growing in late summer. Two weeks ago it rained a lot, and every time it rains for two days and two nights, there will be a lot of mushrooms in the area where I live.

Before, when I didn't know much about mushrooms, I just dared to go and see them. But after reading more books and researching online how to tell the difference between edible mushrooms and poisonous mushrooms. I have started going mushroom hunting. For me, going foraging like this is a time when I get to connect and learn more about nature.

I understand the importance of fungi in the chain of nature. Without fungi, or to be more precise, mycelium, all the dead tree trunks and dead animals would not be able to decompose. Then I learned that mycelium would be almost everywhere. In the forest that I come to, every step I take is associated with a network of mycelium underneath.

Thanks to these networks, trees and plants in the forest can also connect with each other, just like humans can talk, so trees can communicate. Just thinking about this makes my heart glow with indescribable joy like I am also talking with life here. Although I don't speak the same language, I can feel the same colourful life here.

1.jpg
The mushroom I was looking for today is porcini. This species is quite common in summer and autumn

2.jpg

3.jpg
One week after heavy rain, such lovely mushroom will start to grow in this forest

4.jpg
One of the rules when going mushrooms hunting is do not pick everything, leave the young ones so it can grow and do its business. So I tried to cover all these little guys with pine branches

5.jpg
When going mushroom hunting, I always brought a knife and a mushroom bag with me. Because breaking mushrooms by hand will easily affect the mycelium network, cutting with a knife will protect them

Although this is a familiar forest to me because I often walk up here, I have only recently been interested in searching for mushrooms. Interestingly, the old road is like new again when I have the opportunity to take a closer look at the ground. I also don't forget to collect garbage around to keep the forest greener and cleaner.

Every time I go looking for mushrooms or herbs like dills or parsley, I get to understand the forest better. I spend a lot of time sitting down and looking at the forest instead of just passing by as usual. Each time I see a new plant or wildflower that I have never seen before.

Life is amazing, what we know and what we see is just a small part of everything. I am so excited and can't wait to see and learn more. And just like this, I am re-charge with full positive energy for a new week.

Other mushrooms I found on the way:

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Have a great start to your new week everyone!

9.png

Sort:  

Ôi cái mushroom to bằng cái mặt nàng í :) Mà sau mưa có vẻ mọc nhiều và to nàng nhỉ. Nhưng chắc chắn nấm này ăn được chứ. Trong đầu tui hay sợ lỡ hái nẩm trong rừng mà mình không biết loại gì thì sợ nấm độc í nàng :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94