STEEMWOMENCLUB CONTEST #22= COOKING CHALLENGE- COOK YOUR TRADITIONAL DISH: “HOPPERS” BY @dilchamo

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

dc.png

Hello gorgeous ladies🎉🎀🙌🎆🌹 ,

Today I’m going to share a traditional dish in my area. In Colombo, Sri Lanka there are many authentic dishes which are popular among locals and even foreigners. Coconut roti with onion sambol, string hoppers, milk rice and Asian sweets are very popular in all around the country. Special in Colombo these food items are very famous as street foods.Among them I will share a tasty dish which is very much available in street shops. Hoppers is a very tasty street food which is available in all around Sri Lanka. Let’s see how to make this tasty street food which is famous in Colombo and all around the country.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.59 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.59 PM (5).jpeg

Ingredients

Rice
Coconut milk
Wheat flour
Onions
Chili flakes
Salt
Lime

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.49.41 PM.jpeg

paragraph seperator image.png

Method

When the contest announced I thought that I will share hoppers recipe with you. as the first thing I cleaned the rice and let the lice soak in water for about 48 hours.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.46 PM (2).jpeg

Then strain the water and add the rice to the blender cup. Add blend the rice by adding coconut milk.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.46 PM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.46 PM.jpeg

Then pour the blended mixture into a container and mix it while adding some wheat flour. Mix well and leave for about 30 minutes.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.46 PM (3).jpeg

Now we can cook hoppers. In Sri Lanka we have special hopper woks which are very small in size. It is used only to cook hoppers. There are hoppers pouring spoons as well. So By using it pour a full spoon of hopper mixture into the hopper wok.
We can cook one hopper at a time. It takes about 2 minutes to cook one hopper. If you like you can add an egg or some caramelized coconut into the hopper. I used an egg to make hoppers.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.59 PM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.59 PM (4).jpeg

I made a spicy onion sambol to serve with hoppers. I cut onions into small pieces and mixed with chili flakes salt and lime drops to my taste.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.32.19 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-01 at 9.30.59 PM.jpeg

This is the end of my authentic dish which is famous as a street food in Sri Lanka. Hope you enjoy my recipe. Thank you @event-horizon , @steemwomensclub for having this contest. I missed my home town a lot. Thank you for reading my post. I would like to invite my active fellow steemians @jyoti-thelight , @jenny018 to take part in the contest.

thank you 5.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you @dilchamo for the invitation, I already participated in this contest, all the best! ♡ ❤ ♡

Mucha suerte en el concurso!!

 3 years ago 

Thanks for tagging me dear, I have made my entry too a day ago. Your dish looks really delicious though.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thank you for participating in the competition. You have been selected as one of the quality posts of the day. Please keep sharing good quality posts :)

Thank you so much for selecting my post as a quality post of the day. I will work for the community as always.

 3 years ago 

It looks so delicious! 😋

I knew you would put up something great considering your cooking skills.

😘😘😘Thank you dear @event-horizon, I have many ideas in mind but I don't have enough ingredients and utensils with me at the moment.

Still in Pak?

Yes dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82