Steem women club #36 Contest from Past to Present | My Change on Steemit | I challenge|c-favour

in SteemWomen Club2 years ago

LIFE AS A NURSE

Nursing has both been inspiring and challenging. This is my story from past to present.

Jamb application

I remember when I started out in 2012, while still in secondary School, bought my jamb form, prepared and wrote the exam but didn't get admission, tried again the next year but still didn't get, I was discouraged, frustrated, angry. I didn't understand how I'll prepare for an exam, write, pass through all the stress and still don't get through. The next year I wrote again, studied better this time and prayed harder. Good came through for me and I got in. I was super excited when I got to know I had been admitted.

Jambite

When registration started, I paid my acceptance fee and other fees I was supposed to pay, did the physical and medical clearance. We couldn't start that year because of strike, my university already had year 1A and year 1B so they had to put us on hold untill they stabilized the school calendar. We finally started March 2015.

On my matriculation.

100 level

When I started lectures I was happy, the way medical students were treated gave me more pride, I was happy I choosed nursing. Some of the courses taught were similar to what I learnt in secondary school while I had to attend tutorials to understand some better.

on our first clinic day

200 level

While 100 level was mainly general sciences, in 200level we started taking nursing courses. It wasn't difficult to comprehend, I understood them even without reading so much.

On educational visit to Indomie company

300 level

100 level, 200level, 300level and my eye opened I realized it was not an easy task. The textbooks alone were scary, looking at them and realizing I'm supposed to read everything, sent some chills down my nerves.

400level and 500 level

400 level wasn't easy too ,then 500 level(final year) writing nursing council exam, writing projects, writing degree exams, seminar work, writing degree project, writing midwifery exams and another project for midwifery, I realized nursing school wasn't bread and butter. God helping I passed all the exams.

Comm. posting
my final paper

Induction

After final exams, an induction ceremony is conducted where the new nursing graduates take an oath and is induction into the nursing profession. We were informed of the date and preparation was done. Few days to the ceremony , ASUU strike started then Covid-19, we had to wait for months for induction, finally had to do it on Zoom, we had mixed feelings about it,but, life had to go on. Finally inducted on 10th August 2020.

Internship

The search for internship space started, [internship is a one year program designed to train newly inducted nursing graduates(same for other medical departments) to fully equip them in the nursing practice], it was a challenging part too coupled with Covid-19 outbreak which played a part in delaying the process but grateful to God, I started last year and will soon be rounding up.

C360_2021-10-29-11-50-57-180.jpg

Sometimes, at work I get so exhausted that I ask myself who filled my jamb form, and some other times I'm glad I choosed nursing.
I'm super excited I will soon be done with this stage , then NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) and then get to face life squarely. Grateful to God for how far He has brought me.

I don't have steem power at the moment so can't delegate but will do so as soon as I can.

Inviting @kayjee and @nora-chi to participate.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Congrats nurse.
You did well.
Imagine you gave up after failing...you won't be here now

Yes , thank you very much

 2 years ago 

Congratulations!! It is indeed no easy job.
My son is a doctor in Ireland and I know how the health profession is underestimated and undervalued.
I salute you!

 2 years ago 

Wow!! Nursing has always been my dream course.
Congratulations to you

Hahahaha, humanitarian job is not an easy one , am happy that u actually filled nursing in ur jamb form , don't bother about d stress that set in most times am happy for u

I won't, thank you ma

 2 years ago 

To be a nurse is not easy ooo, I know what my cousin passed through to get her capping ceremony. Congratulations on advancing to greater things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59661.11
ETH 2670.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50