Steem Women Club Contest #22 | Cooking Challenge | Onion pickles | by @arshani

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

Hi Beautiful Ladies❤️,
How are you? I think everyone is happy and safe.Today I brought you how to prepare onion pickles.

IMG_20210630_185428.jpg

✨️Tell us about where you live

My country is Sri Lanka. I live in a village called Rathgama in the Galle district of Sri Lanka. So I brought you the recipe of a traditional food of my area today.
I really like this dish. That's why I decided to put this food in this contest. So this is a local dish that is a staple in every home on the Sinhala New Year confectionery table.

✨️Share a detailed recipe with a pictorial explanation of each step

Let us now see what are the types of raw materials required for this.

🥗Ingredients required🥗

🌺300g of red onion
🌺300g of green chillies
🌺 50g of Maldive fish
🌺About 350ml of vinegar
🌺A quarter of coconut oil
🌺A little bit of yolk
🌺A little salt
🌺A little mustard powder
🌺A little bit of turmeric powder
🌺A little pepper powder
IMG_20210630_190757.jpg

Once the above ingredients are prepared, all you have to do is add the ingredients and prepare the food.

🍄Method of making🍄

🔺First take the red onion and clean it well.
🔺Then cut the stalks of green chillies and wash them well with water.
🔺 Then take the Maldive fish and wash them well and set aside.
This is the red onion, chilli and mackerel I washed.

Now you have to fry the washed red onion, green chillies and mackerel in oil.
🔺First I take a pan and put oil in it and mix well.
This is how I first added the red onion to the boiling oil.

IMG_20210701_113713.jpg

🔺Then I chopped 300g of green pepper this way until the red onion was golden brown.
Now the red onion is golden. Do not overcook red onions. Or trying to melt the red onion. Now I take the red onion out of the pan. Since the red onion still contains oil, I added some red onion to the milk this way so that the oil escapes.

Now you have to fry in chilli oil.
Just like I had fried red onions before, I also put green peppers in oil and fried until golden. Now it's time to put some chillies in the pan.
I think it would be nice to put the oil in the chillies in a jar.
IMG_20210701_113756.jpg

Now you have to fry the Maidive fish.
I kept it at the end because the mackerel is a bit of a delicacy so I decided to put it in the end oil.

IMG_20210701_113827.jpg

Now add the red onion, green chillies and Maldive fish and fry.
Now let's see what we can do next.
Now I put a clay pot on the stove and added 350ml of vinegar to it.

Now add all the spices to the vinegar.

But it is important to note that vinegar can be added to this dish, so people with allergies can substitute vinegar with coconut water and a little pepper.

🔺That is, add the yolks, pepper powder, turmeric powder, mustard powder and salt to the vinegar as I mentioned earlier and mix well.

IMG_20210702_102959.jpg

🔺Now when all the spices are well mixed, add the pre-fried red onion, green chillies and Maldive fish to the mixture.
🔺Now when everything is well mixed and smells old, you need to take this from the stove.

IMG_20210701_121210.jpg

Now I'm done preparing this dish. Now it's time to send it to the table.

IMG_20210701_125836.jpg

This is a curry so we can eat it with rice, bread and milk rice.

IMG_20210701_120955.jpg

IMG_20210630_184627.jpg

✨️Traditional dishes of that area and why you choose your dish

Popular traditional foods in my area are papaya mallow, banana blossoms,.. etc.

IMG_20210701_115147.jpg

IMG_20210701_115110.jpg

The reason I chose this dish is because it is prepared with a combination of many spices and is the perfect dish for a rustic meal. And I look forward to preparing and enjoying this dish.
IMG_20210413_081543.jpg
So thanks to @kryptokraze and @event-horizon for sponsored this contest. I invite sisters @nishadi89, @sewmini and @dilchamo for this contest.
So I hope you all enjoyed my article today. I conclude this article by thanking you for staying with me for so long.
Take care.
Good day to you all.

💞Thank You!💞

Sort:  

Me encanta la cebolla frita le da un rico toque dulce a la comida.

Feliz Día de San Valentín.png

 3 years ago 

Really? I like too. Yes the fried onions are really tasty. Have a nice day!

I love fried onions. 😋
Really enjoyed reading about your recipe.

Thank you for taking part in the competition.

 3 years ago 

I also like to fry onions this way. ☺️Thanks so much for your comments!

Thank you for taking part in the competition.

I am also very happy to have joined this contest. Good day to you!

 3 years ago 

You put lots of efforts into it. It looks delicious. The presentation is top-notch.

Congratulations dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59319.27
ETH 2469.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45