SteemWomen's Club Community Contest #4||Who is Your Woman Idol And Why?|| My Super Mum||@afunkycares,100% Power upsteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20201226_075759.jpg
My Woman Idol

Hello friends of Steem Women's Club, it's a pleasure to drop my entry for this contest. Hope you are all doing great?

WHO IS YOUR WOMAN IDOL?
My super mum, I would say, is my woman idol. She is a great woman with lot of strength and qualities I admire and desire . These distinguishing qualities she possess are worthy of emulation, and I am already taking after her footsteps.

SHORT NARRATIVE FROM HER LIFE
Mrs Moronkeji is a native of Ogun State,Nigeria. She grew up with her parents but lost her father at a tender age. The death of my grandfather,her dad, brought an end to her formal education. She finished primary education but couldn't further because her mother couldn't sponsor her through school.

As a teenager, She decided to go into business. So She went to live with a relative and started her small business. She has learnt the way of business right from her primary schooldays. She would make "robo", snack from melon seeds,sold them and saved up the money to buy the things she needed.

She has been a very hardworking , industrious and business-minded person right from childhood. . This was what kept her going and the family when we lost our dad. I lost my dad about 15 years ago. Presently, she owns a store where she sells clothing articles. No help from uncle or aunt or any relative. It has been God and my mum.

She determined that the education she couldn't get as a child,due to financial constraint ,all her children would receive it. She was able to sponsor all her children through school,the three levels of formal education. .I am the last of five. And we remain forever indebted to her.

She is a resilient,independent and prayerful woman who put her faith in God alone. She would always tell us, in Ijebu,our dialect that"Ma nare,ko so pe on neyan", meaning,"own up to yourself rather than rely on people". She would say human can disappoint,don't put your trust in men. Work as though you are on your own and trust God.

PLACES IN HER LIFE THAT YOU HAVE AFFECTED
In every bid to appreciate my mum for all she does, I usually give mum special treats, could be surprise gifts,surprise delicacies specially prepared for her by me. On her 60th birthday, I made a surprise two-tier cake with support from older siblings. Together with the grandchildren, we celebrated with my super mum.

IMG_20210107_182254.JPG
60th birthday cake I made for mum

I can't appreciate mum enough for all she has been through for us. It' s a daily expression of gratitude. And I still hope to celebrate her even in bigger ways.

IMG_20201226_075744.jpg
My Woman Idol and I

IMG_20201226_075814.jpg
60th birthday celebration with grandchildren

IMG_20210107_182316.JPG
my super mum, my woman idol
Just like mum,I want to grow up an independent,resilient,industrious and strongly determined woman who would stand in gap for her family and society at large, come what may.

I invite my friends @ngoenyi, @talktofaith, @mesonia, @leyxi209, @chizikky187, @tmighty @iamlynxie, @eberechi10

Special thanks to @steemwomensclub and @svm038 for this contest.

Thank you all for reading through.

Cc: @steemcurator01
Cc:@steemcurator02

Sort:  

@afunkycares so you are a last born. Well thanks for sharing your mom here. She is really a strong woman and she has stood very tall for you guys.

I hope she grows older and older to really reap the fruits of her labour.

 3 years ago 

My prayer is same ,she has really been there for us through thick and thin.

Thanks for visiting.

 3 years ago 

Wow! This is a very wonderful description of your woman idol. Your mum is such a determined mother. Her hard work is really paying off. Sorry about your Dad. You are really a wonderful support to your mum and the treats you do give her will surely be remembered by her all through her life. Thank you for sharing. @afunkycares
#twopercent #nigeria #affable

 3 years ago 

Thank you for those words @ngoenyi. More treats for mum, for all she has been through for the family.

Great write up abiut your woman idol, your mum must have impacted your life so well that she is still a major part of your life.

My super mum, I would say, is my woman idol. She is a great woman with lot of strength and qualities I admire and desire .

It is possible you also took after some of the qualities you admire in her if you check, her strength must have kept you going as well.

Thanks for sharing this with us @afunkycares.

#twopercent #nigeria

 3 years ago 

Thank you for those words @iamlynxie.
I am forever grateful to mum for staying strong for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86