Sorting out these old Legacy rare cards

I have two thousand count boxes full of crap rare cards that I really need to get rid of somehow. These cards trade for around 10p each in the UK (14c each US approx).

So I decided to have a look through them tonight. I have previously filtered them before but disposed of a load of Oath of the Gatewatch and Battle for Zendikar junk some time ago, and for good reason.

What I didn’t realise is there are around 300 Legacy rares in there. Not a big deal? Probably not but if you understand that the newest cards in these piles are now 15 years old it made me think.

I’ll pull these out of the junk, sleeve them all and hold them for another few years. With all the price increases of these weird unplayable cards recently I don’t want to give them up for 10p each.

IMG_1595.JPG

Just look at Goblin Lore, a worthless card until recently and now it’s a $24 card, madness! The number of Goblin Lore’s I have discarded as junk in the past is just not funny, plus its not even Legacy age or even rare.

I can’t keep track of the spikes I’m seeing on MtgStocks and not just cards from the Reserved List. Quirky cards from 20 years ago are starting to spike up due to other cards being released with certain theme’s

We get a pirates theme, and all the old pirate cards spike up; No I want to keep these old cards. They may get reprinted but the demand for the original sets will still be retained for the purists.


This one is on the reserved list but the Ixalon pirate theme caused it to spike.

I did a custom search for ‘Dinosaur’ types but was surprised to find only Ixalon and Rivals of Ixalon had these cards. Nothing at all from previous sets!

There’s plenty of subtypes to go at though. I'll be patiently waiting for ‘Beast’ and ‘Djinn’ and then be cashing in.


While Aku Djinn may never find a home even if we get 'Djinn's' in the future, he will always be cool. He's on the reserved list and just look at that artwork, awesome!

This is a STEEM reprint of a post from almost 2 years ago.. - Legacy cards rock! Some have spiked to serious values and I do wish I had kept these, but how long can you keep something before it's value is realised?

This is the first post ever in @kommienezuspadt's 'Magic the Gathering' community. COVID-19 kind of stops the social element of the game unless it's played within the family.

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.
  • Earn JSECoin buy simply creating an account and Mine while you browse here

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

@tipu curate

That's pretty awesome! The only cards I have (besides my almost worthless steem monsters) are in my massive Garbage Pail Kids collection. I have about 1/2 of the first series, and all of the 2nd through 13th I believe, plus loads of extras/doubles. Plus tons that have been made after the 80s. One day I'll have to go through them and see what I can sell.

Can't say I have heard of any of these, besides the 'almost worthless steem monsters' ;)

You've never heard of Garbage Pail Kids? I thought they were big in England as well (Especially between 1985-1990). They had UK versions that were smaller than the American ones.

16895810822784Fr.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38