Zeke's Sweet Holiday Beers!

in BEER5 years ago

What a holiday season! Oh the wonderful beers that made it into my face hole! Strap on your drinkin' socks and I will share a few.

zekes-hops.jpg

Source:https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

text16.png

From Santa - Transatlantic

IMG_8162.jpg

Abe Erb Brewing - Transatlantic American Pale Ale http://abeerb.com/
One of the little bits of Christmas magic is the rite to blame the big man for the things you buy for yourself. I will have to admit this is one of those situations. I like to have a few small cans in the fridge for the late nightcap or maybe a quick break. Seeing I was close to the brewery with another client, it would be rude not to drop by and pick up some pops.

IMG_8163.jpg

The Abe Erb Website doesn't spend enough time telling the stories behind their neat beers but employs quite the beer-loving thesaurus to pen the description on the can. The lady behind the desk described this as Buggy Whip IPA's little brother which sold me as I like Buggy whip. It really doesn't do this beer justice though as I find myself getting shocked into the moment with the taste as if I had never tasted it before. Seriously solid beer that doesn't need to hide in the shadow of any IPA and just might be my favourite Abe Erb brew.

text16.png

A Gift from a Friend - Not a Word Spoken

IMG_8157 (1).jpg

Wellington Brewery - Not a Word Spoken Apricot IPA https://www.wellingtonbrewery.ca/beers/small-batch-seasonals/not-a-word-spoken

Will you look at this beautiful thing? The background colour fade. The well-drawn comic style illustration with a sense of humour and a story to tell. Doesn't that look like something you would try once no matter what was in the can? Observe the suspended Apricot in the hazy vessel standing proudly over his shoulder.

IMG_8159 (1).jpg

The bad news may be that the story really isn't told on the back of the label, leaving us with enough to create our own as we sip. I may be shunned by the hardcore IPA folks or beer purists, but I love a bit of fruit in the brew. Not too much, like a couple Raspberry Wheat beers I can remember but the perfect hint. This is an IPA that happens to have apricot in it rather than a fruit drink that happens to be a beer. It would be nice to know the hops used on the can but it was a nice beer enjoyed during family game night.

text16.png

Late Christmas/New Year's Gift - UPA!

IMG_8215.jpg

Henderson Brewing https://hendersonbrewing.com/ is my brother's home brewery (close to home) and I love IPA so it makes me happy that they have a good IPA. Trips to Toronto make this one a treat because they don't carry the IPA in my town. When freshly 19 (or at least I was and he was not yet) I would buy my little brother a 6-pack because he liked beer, wasn't old enough to drink it yet, and it would piss mom off. I really should remember to put together a post of the whole story next Christmas but it made the 25th a funny and tasty day.

IMG_8216.jpg

This year, I was gifted 4 tall boys of this fine IPA.....and I managed to save it til tonight to drink while writing this. The Union Line GoTrain passes by every 6.5 minutes bringing people from the burbs. This IPA is 6.5% abv. Rather simple and unimpressive thought authentic story behind this one. That being said, I love this beer for the rough-feeling can label, @broncnutz Broncos blue and orange, and the sweet and nicely-bodied beer. This is one great good beer I think many would agree.

text16.png

IMG_8211.jpg

This beer is one of the ones I pick up because it catches my eye, and I owe it to everyone here to drink and report on it! My other brother and I hold these cans together in unity and debauchery on New Year's eve. Such a gift to have both brothers there for a good piss up and ring in this year right.

https://www.mikkellersd.com/beers is the brewery though it claims t be from California,though the label says product of Canada. I can't help but constantly tell the truth...which is, in this case, we were a couple beers down by the time we enjoyed these and there was quite the varieties of activity going on at the time. Hence, I do not remember what they tasted like though, I would likely remember if they were bad. I do not have that recollection and have purchased 2 more which are waiting patiently in my fridge for a sober evaluation.

That is the way New Years goes you see.

text16.png

This has been another episode of The STEEM Beerologist having a few drinks with my friends on #beersaturday. I would encourage you to follow @detlev, check out the stories at the weekly contest https://steemit.com/hive-187719/@detlev/the-sylvester-aka-new-years-eve-beersaturday-in-week-134 , and making a beer post of your own to join us.

text16.png

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png

innerblocks.jpg

What was a good beer you had during the holidays?


Posted via Marlians.com
Sort:  

The paddlin' diptych :)

I used to collect cans when I was very little, they were very rare in my eyes, and very valuable as building materials.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Looking good buddy! That UPA sounds interesting. I’d gladly try all these beers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36