Dented Can Deal!

in BEER4 years ago

20200314_004829.jpg

Apparently there was some damage to a case of beer, and the cans were discounted as a result. Yay! I'd share the good fortune with ya, @meesterboom, if I could.

I don't remember off hand whether I reviewed Widmer Brothers Hefe as part of my Amateurish Beer Review series, and I don't want to look it up right now. If I did write one, and do find it later, we'll see if my opinion has changed much, I guess.

This particular can is a tall 19.2 oz. (568mL) version of the typical 12 oz. cans used for beer and soda, so it's a bit more than a pint. At 4.9% ABV, this isn't exactly going to leave me reeling in a drunken stupor. It isn't especially bitter and hoppy, but Widmer Brothers isn't generally part of that microbrewery obsession despite being located in hop-happy Portland, Oregon. It isn't especially malty, either. There's just a touch of sourness. I would say the flavor is not really any stronger than the alcohol content.

But is it any good? Actually, yes. Admittedly, I haven't tried a lot of hefeweizens, but this seems decent enough to me. I believe the term "sessionable" would apply. It's not a superior beer sure to wow snobby Europeans, but it's a lot better than the swill from Anheuser-Busch or the like. It seems like a suitable summer refreshment. If only there weren't a cold wind delivering snow flurries outside.

Oh, and since I couldn't taste the dent, the price was certainly right!

Sort:  

Sounds quite good. I like a Hefe!!

I love a good classic hefe

May I suggest actually engaging with what people write instead of repeating the same empty compliment over and over? This looks like spam.

Screenshot_20200314-223442_Chrome.jpg

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73