Wall have eyes chapter 2

in Steem Ghana3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I'm here again to continue the chapter2 of walls have eyes story.


wall_of_eyes_fixed_height.webp

(https://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main)

In fact, it was as if there was no chief at all. If I hadn’t seen him once while running an errand for Mama, I would have thought he himself had disappeared. But of course, the chief
couldn't disappear.
The rest of us could disappear, every single one of us was fair game; but the chief was the apple of the gods’ eyes. He was protected by river gods—and priests who were sworn to a lifetime of servitude. These powers that the chief wielded meant that he could see the enemy from miles away;

he knew the enemy’s plans before they were hatched. And yet, he hadn’t seen the disappearance?
He hadn’t done anything to stop it, why? There was only one answer that I could think of but I was too afraid to ask my father if it was true.
It was during the Week of the gods that our lives changed.

Tradition decreed that the first week after the sixth month of the year, every household in the village would gather in the chief’s Palace and offer gratitude to the gods for their
undeserving protection and unwarranted blessings.
During these tortuous seven days, only the children were left in the house. Our parents brought everything they had to the chiefs Palace as early as the chief determined usually, it was some time before 4am (in today’s time). By everything, I mean foodstuffs trinkets, gold and anything of value.

At the end of the seven days, every household , except the chief’s , was forced to subsist on what little the magnanimity of the chief determined he passed away.

On this day, my parents had left for the chief’s Palace. I was sound asleep on a mat in my parent’s room when I heard the sound, a frenzied knocking accompanied by whispered
screams of my father’s name. I must have thought it a dream because it took a while for me to convince myself that I needed to get up.

When I opened my parent’s door, I found
Egya Kwame Mensah, standing in the thick fog, his wife and two children by his sides. I knew him to be a good friend of my father’s. So without much dallying, I ushered him in, his
family shoving themselves through the doorway.
Because my parent’s room was so small, only Egya Kwame Mensah had a place to sit but he declined when I offered it. the sound; a frenzied knocking accompanied by whispered screams of my father’s name.

I must have thought it a dream because it took a while for me to convince myself that I needed to get up. When I opened my parent’s door, I found Egya Kwame Mensah, standing in the thick fog, his wife and two children by his sides. I knew him to be a good friend of my father’s. So without much dallying, I ushered him in, his
family shoving themselves through the doorway.

Because my parent’s room was so small, only Egya Kwame Mensah had a place to sit but he declined when I offered it . I offered him water water, he shook his head so hard I thought he might break his neck.

“Where are your parents?” His voice was hushed, and the fear in it was clear as sunshine on the hills.
“They’re at the ceremony.” I said, careful of my tone. In fact, I was quite terrified because it was quite clear r that something was wrong.

Egya Kwame Mensah now lowered himself into the wooden chair. The children set the bags they had been carrying on the floor. Maame Kwame Mensah’s eyes betrayed tears. There was resignation in their demeanor, an acceptance
of the inescapability of their situation whatever it was.

“Sorry to bother you like this, but I was hoping I would catch your father at home. In my haste, I forgot today's the third day of the ceremony. Now I don't quite know what to do"

Mame Mensah was sniffing now, dabbing at her eyes with the back of her hand. The children appeared too young to practically understand what was going on but as soon as they saw their mother crying, they started shedding tears too. Mine, was a delicate position, one which wasn't helped by growing fear.

This was a responsibility I was unprepared for, it was an ambush that I imagined my father would have handled well.

Not knowing what to do, I offered to go and fetch my father but Egya Kwame Mensah did not want to entertain the thought.

" of course not. I will not have you do such and unreasonable thing. I merely seek your father's help leaving this community. I'd thought I had more time but by all indications, there is no to spare.

Today, right now, I must disappear with my family else ours will be death ".

Have few questions to ask my noble readers..
What are some of the moral lessons you learnt from reading?

Thanks to @khojo, myself and everyone reading this post.

Sort:  

Screenshot_20210716-110835_2.jpg

Your post has been curated by @steem-ghana Community Curation Trail

JOIN US ON TELEGRAM

JOIN US ON DISCORD CHAT

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER to our Community account through the following links:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41