CONTEST || MY DREAM JOB ||

in Steem Ghana3 years ago

First of all I'll like to thank @rubilu123 for bringing up this contest and also much grateful to steem-ghana for hosting this contest.
My dream job comes in the form of the noblest of all professions, it's a job whose roots of importance have sunk deep into this earth that even if all other professions and jobs were to collapse on the surface of this earth, it will still be standing tall and will graciously honor its services to people. Ladies and gentlemen I present to you Medicine as my dream profession and job, and it's a great honor to be on the road to this my heart yearned profession.

20191029_084458-01.jpg

Brief History

Medicine from its noble origin arose out of the primal sympathy of man with man; out of the desire to help those in sorrow, need and sickness.
Medicine was first practice by witch doctors who were believed to have supernatural powers to heal people cursed by other people or spirits. It metamorphosed throughout history to become an art that could be learn by common people. Among the people who laid the foundation of making medicine an art was Hippocrates, a Greek doctor. He is considered as the father of medicine.

become-medical-sales-rep.jpg

My story

My dream to be a medical doctor manifested a long time ago when I was in the Kindergarten. Since then I never looked back. I would always act as the doctor among my friends when we play. Sometimes I'll tell myself that I'll be first doctor to cure AIDS. "If AIDS is in the blood why don't they (the doctors) drain all the blood in the patient's body and replace it with a new blood that has no AIDS" I would always think to myself. Funny right, but that's how serious my passion was for this profession.
My seriousness about medicine even grew more when I got to JHS. In JHS I watched a movie called the "The gifted hands". This movie was about a black American doctor called Ben Carson. He was the first doctor to separate a craniopagus siamese twins with both surviving. He also performed other mind blowing surgeries in his life time. I quickly took him as my role model. Unbeknownst to me, this role model of mine was real. It wasn't a mere movie I watched. I was so happy that I even placed his picture in my room. Then with all determination I embarked on the journey to be a medical doctor. Now I am a medical students at the University for Development Studies striving hard to get to my dream job.

20191126_124113.jpg

00000PORTRAIT_00000_BURST20191217084636423.jpg

Medicine and what it entails

Medicine is a profession in the health field which aims to promote and maintain health and well being. It covers diagnosis, treatment, prevention of disease and many other aspect of health.
As a medical doctor there are some qualities that you need to possess: critical thinking, initiative, sympathy and innovation.
It's a very demanding profession but very essential and worth all the sacrifice.

Requirements and Qualifications needed.

Before you can be admitted to a medical school in Ghana, you should offer General Science course in your senior high school and do exceptionally well in your WASSCE. You can't nurse the dream of becoming a doctor if you are offering the social-sciences and arts courses in your senior high school.
After your six year stay in the medical school, you should pass your final exams and complete a two year national service which is known as housemanship. After your service you are given license to practice in a hospital.

I decided to be a doctor because I love to help people, give people hope, when there is no hope, empower people when everything seem to be going down hill, by making people's life better for them. Indeed Allah has even praise the job as he said in the Quran "... and if you save one life it's as if you've saved the whole of mankind".

hand-doctor-reassuring-her-female-260nw-238674805.jpg

I love my profession so much and I entreat all and sundry to also love their profession. Because every profession is important for the betterment of humanity. I also want to entreat everybody to never give up on their dreams. Keep working and God will definitely help you.

Thank you for reading
Sort:  

Splendid, that was amazing.

Thanks Basir

 3 years ago 

I never knew all this history about modern medicine.

Thanks for the education. Above all great entry on the contest.🙏✨👍

Thanks to you more ❤️

I enjoyed every bit of your entry especially the part you quoted the quran. Good luck in the contest Abdul Jabar!

I am very grateful for the love you are showing me

Great job. Thanks so much.

Being a medical doctor does require a lot of thing.
You have educated us about your dream job exceptionally and the I must confess I never knew how your profession came into being.

I pray you will become a great doctor one day and help the whole of humanity.

Thanks for participating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38