Contest Entry: My Dream Job

in Steem Ghana3 years ago

20210823_000048_0000.png
Source


🍁


It was a quiet Sunday night and the air was cool. The power was on so it helped to make it more...tranquil. My husband was in the gazebo, waiting with a cigar and a bottle of dealcoholized wine. I joined him on a padded couch - its fabric always gentle to touch.

We had become a little giddy from the wine and were giggling infectiously. Our voices reverberating clearly into the night.
Then he held my hand and pressed his lips to my palm and knuckles.

"I love spending time like this with you," he said, "away from your chatty friends and no offence - overwhelming family."

"Oh silly -" I tapped his arm, "I also need a break from them. And my family is here; with you."

We looked at each other, our eyes carrying words that our lips couldn't catch up to.

"I used to have dreams of a life like the one we have now." He said.

A wife whom every fibre of me loves, a beautiful home, and stability all round, it doesn't get more comfortable than this.

It goes without saying that we'll have kids but for now, I am spending alone moments with my darling - a big dream come true."

I smiled at the man I felt so lucky to have, and feathered a kiss on his forehead.

"I do love this very much." I said. "Speaking of dreams, I used to have thoughts as a child - of what I wanted to do in the professional world."

"Oh? I don't think you've spoken about a job you truly like."

"Yeah...I suppose it has to do with how things change and realign every now and then. My desired jobs have transitioned from one vocation to the other since I was little.

I remember wanting to be a nurse because of the care they could give and their smart uniforms. They also looked sexy on screens. I realised later on that I need a range of science subjects and had to drop it 'cos my grades were barely taking me on in the art field.

Along the line, I thought of being a writer of lovely books but my mum's reaction suggested it didn't have real 'substance'. So I stored that thought somewhere.

I considered engineering, architecture, aeronautics, teaching, and the list went on and on. With no actual grounds.

But as time went, I found I had interest in hands-on skills like tailoring, crafts, carpentry, baking, cooking, and other range of skills.

So I started writing them down as my interests stretched so that they wouldn't stop at whimsical thoughts. I wanted to create an empire out of the different things I enjoyed."

"You're saying in essence, that you don't or didn't have one true job in mind that fueled your passion or creativity or something? You didn't have a dream job?"

"Oh... I did have something I liked a lot. Designing."

"Design?" He nearly chirped.

"Yes love, I had - and still have - a thing for design. And funny enough, it falls in place with my organisation skills and obsession with accurate lines."

"Ooh that's why you couldn't let the construction guys leave the gazebo as it was."

"Oof! The finish looked bent from a certain angle dear! It makes me cringe when I spot poorly done decors and this gazebo I knew, would mark lots of memories for both of us.

I don't know the 'qualifications' of what designers need but I feel strongly about this. Especially after sharing it with you. I could take online classes and juggle it with this painstaking - but rewarding - CEO job.

He smiled at me, eyes gleaning and twinkly. My cheeks felt hot as I buried my face in his shoulder.

"I have to stare. Honey, you're amazing, as you've been since I first knew you. Now I know that a career is often kicked off early so that firm footing can be established but you are smart. Stuff like that don't mean any hindrance.

We're going to have children on the way soon and will get really busy nurturing them, but I want to help you paint this dream of yours.

An empire, perhaps, but you seem so alive talking about your designs... I would be more than happy to assist alongside being a surgeon of course.

I clasped his hands and my welling heart moved in to kiss him. In many ways, this was a dream come true but I would see this design part through.


🍁


@rubilu123

Sort:  

Anchor!!.... What is better than finding the right person that supports your dream job

Oh hi... Indeed.

I really love your way with words. I was almost lost in moment wishing it wouldn't end. This is really nice

Oh thank you dear. Your support means everything. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

You just have a perfect way to write. Honestly, it makes me want to know you personally. Please tell me there's another chapter. Beautiful piece

Oh Sandra... I'm glad if got to you like so.

For you, I could create a sequel for this on @campusconnectng. Thank you for reading and supporting.

My dream job. Quite understandable and nice. RiRi🤩

Screenshot_20210716-110835_2.jpg

Your post has been curated by @steem-ghana Community Curation Trail

JOIN US ON TELEGRAM

JOIN US ON DISCORD CHAT

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER to our Community account through the following links:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88