Steem-Ghana Weekly Contest: Share You Culture With Us

in Steem Ghana3 years ago (edited)

Introduction

My fellow steemians,
I want to appreciate the @steem-ghana community for these wonderful opportunity given to me to share with you all the beauty of my culture. Before I proceed I will like to acknowledge the presence of @nattybongo and @mcsamm for their tireless efforts to see that these contest comes to reality.

Share You Culture With Us

I am from Boki a local government area in cross river state Nigeria. Today I will be sharing with us about my culture. Please stay with me as I am going to take a lot of time to elaborate all you need to know about my culture.

Every local government here in Nigeria has his or her own culture and traditions which helps in distinguishing them from other local government. In so doing, Boki as a local government has it's own culture and tradition and am so proud to share it with you guys. Below are few of the areas I will be covering in these contest.

  1. Dressing
  2. Festivals
  3. Market days

Dressing

images.jpeg
Source

One of the major criteria that tells where you are from here in Nigeria is your dressing. Once any man or woman dresses in his or her cultural attire, you can't help than to ask where is this person from. Some persons, merely looking at you on your attire will conclude that these person is from this tribe or the other. Today I want to talk about my traditional attire here in boki. For men here in boki, they use lion clothes with a long sleeve shirt normally white in colour and these dressing is always accompanied by a walking stick. They woman case is not too different as they have the custom of tieing two wrappers and wearing a blouse and then have their head tied with scaf.

Festival

images (1).jpeg
Source

Every tribe and people have one or more festival they normally celebrate either yearly or once every 2 or 5 years time as the case may be. Here in boki, we are not exempted as a matter of fact, we do our celebration yearly. The Festival celebration carried out here in boki is down every 18th day of Agust and it is termed NEW YAM FESTIVAL. This festival is done once every year and anytime these festival comes people all over the world try their best to attend. Here in these festival, farmers who have planted yams will harvest them then bring it to the village square where people all over they world will see and recommend the person with the best produce. Other festival carried out include age grade meeting, inter-village cultural dance, circumcision festivals etc.

Market Days

The traditional or cultural market days in boki is something that can never be taken out from the culture of boki people. As most people all over Nigeria and beyond knows these market days and they normal come occasionally to get stuffs from the market as well. Most of the market days include Okundi market day, Ntamarte market day, Kakwagom market day and Wula market day.
These four market days are very unique and has different things sold in them. One unique about the boki people is that any market that falls on a Sunday, will not hold. Sunday in boki land is one of the most respected days.

Conclusions

Sincerely, I must confess boki culture is one of the best I have seen as a Nigerian, I am so proud of my culture. We are very welcoming, strangers are treated with no difference from they indigenous people no wonder today we have more foreign people in our midst. You are all welcome to boki.

Thank you for reading...

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

I must confuse boki culture is one of the best I have seen as a Nigerian

I am guessing you are trying to say you must confess? Anyway thanks for your entry you did great, too many tags cc though which i believe is not necessary. You source too leads to your google search and to the exact source of the image please check that. I wish you best of luck

Corrections made please you can recheck it to confirm. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77