CONTEST ENTRY: MY DREAM JOB

in Steem Ghana3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I am very happy to participate in this contest and I say very big thanks to @rubilu123 and @steem-ghana for their effort to this wonderful contest.
Talking of job, a job is an economic role or task for which a person is paid for his or her services within a time schedule.
My dream job is to become Medical Doctor, and this is how it came into my mind:


original.jpg

Image source

When one asks kids about their dream jobs, it is always amazing to to hear the answers they give out, very ridiculous. Same to myself when I was in basic school, and anytime I was ask of my dream job, I always said I wanted to be a military man. As time goes on, I began changing my mind from military to becoming a Catholic Priest, all because I was very close to most of the priests and some of the church leaders, and also the role I play as an alter server in the church. They used to advice me to keep up with the works of God to become one of them in future.
Later in time, I fell seriously ill and was admitted at the Tamale Teaching Hospital, where I was saved by a Surgeon through operation. That really marvelled me when I was explained to by the Surgeon. I asked the Surgeon many questions concerning his profession and he was opened and told me a lot. From the there I changed my mind again from the priesthood to becoming a Surgeon in future.
I then moved from my Way to stay with my dad in Navrongo, where I completed my basic education and Secondary as well. Becoming a Surgeon still remained in my heart untill I gained admission into Notre Dame Seminary Senior High School to study General Science.
In Senior High School, I was exposed to different people from different places, including the teachers. We used to have time for seminar, and through these seminars and per my analysis, I realized that being a Surgeon wouldn't be the right job for me due to my fear for blood during accidents. In that case, I tuned my mind to becoming a Medical Doctor.
When I completed Senior High School, and I was to choose my courses during application in tertiary institution, my dad asked me to go into teaching but I told him I have no interest for that. I chose the all courses to be health related and the course of interest was Medicine, but unfortunately on my part, when the admissions were out, I was not offered Medicine but rather Bsc. Biochemistry to study in the University for Development Studies (U.D.S.), Navrongo campus now CKT- University of Technology and Applied Sciences. Knowing that I can still proceed to study medicine after graduation with degree in Biochemistry, I never rejected it but went ahead to study it. As it counts now, I am currently a level 300 Biochemistry student.

IMG_20210716_133612_503.jpg
Myself

My dad would always say there are no enough job opportunities for Biochemists, but I told him I don't want to be a Biochemist, instead a Medical Doctor, so I will be proceeding to the School of Medicine after graduating from Biochemistry in order to make my dream come through.
My dad again asked what I understand by medicine and my reasons for not going in education but rather health. I never shivered but answered him with full confidence with tangible reasons.
I answered him, medicine is a branch of Science that deals with the study of the cause, diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of disease or illness.
I also gave him comparable reasons why I don't want to go into education but rather health.
First and foremost most, I have problem with my speech, I sometimes stammer, speak faster, or mention some words and they are not clear to the audient. In order to avoid stressing myself I chose to into medicine where I won't talk plenty.
Secondly, I am a quick tempered person when it comes to explaining things to people and find it difficult to comprehend. When it happens that way, I become very angry and it's either I beat them mercilessly for failing to understand simple things or I leave the class for good, which I don't also prefer.
I am also a kind of person who loves to work always, even 24 hours, unlike teachers who work for only 8 hours everyday for the five working days and go on a month vacation after the semester.
Most importantly, I also want to save lives just like the way my life was saved by the Surgeon.
Lastly, the salaries of Medical Doctor is much appreciative compared to that of teachers, so I choose medicine over teaching.
Other words of advice and motivation from health works and other people increase my affinity of becoming a Medical Doctor.

Thank you all🙏🏼🙏🏼💕

Sort:  

Nice write up. Thanks so much for your entry.

Thank you Rep

 3 years ago 

Wish you all the best in your quest to become a great doctor soon

Thank you bro

 3 years ago 

#Doc it is.
Great entry

I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09