THE DIARY GAME : 17TH APRIL, 2022 : MEETING WITH MY SUPERVISOR & ATTENDED A WAIMM WORKSHOP

in Steem Ghana2 years ago

Greetings everyone,

As I am working on my project work on the effects of trace elements on humans and the soil using GIS, it is vital that I work hand in hand with my supervisor to ensure that I am on the right track. My supervisor has done a great deal of geochemistry on soil analysis in the field of Medical Geology so she is well versed in the study of trace elements. It is therefore important that I rely on her expertise for the success of my project.

I therefore met with her in order for her to review the first two chapters of my thesis report. Basically, we had to go over first chapter which involved the abstract, aim, methodology, scope, beneficiaries, budget, and so on. For the Chapter 2 I have been tasked to provide a report on the geology of the Bongo area which my project is centered on.



24FEA216-5B1A-4A13-97BC-8F07861CFC52.jpeg

Meeting my supervisor along with another colleague at her office


We spent about two hours or so going over a few details such as the use of some technical terminologies and the recommended format according to our department guidelines (Department of Earth and Environmental Science).

From there, I had to get something to eat since I had not yet taken my breakfast. I wanted a quick meal so I rushed to the streets to get some fast food. There is one pastries shop where you can get some spring rolls or meat pies to go with your drinks. So I bought a few and went to my place for break.



12913466-3266-423A-96FD-36D83C696842.jpeg

Buying some spring rolls at this pastries shop


Once I was done, I had to go and attend a GIS workshop organized by a friend of mine who is also a WAIMM president. WAIMM stands for the West African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy. This means that they are responsible for guiding people who are interested in this sector and giving them the right guidance and training.

Michael was therefore giving students the opportunity to learn about the Geographical Information System software called QGIS in order to better map and analyze areas digitally.



2739974B-387B-46B5-B556-3F5C18017491.jpeg

At the workshop


I was impressed with his presentation style as he visited people individually to ensure that they were on the right track and were doing the right thing. That is surely how leaders should conduct themselves in order to ensure that their followers are not deviating.

Once we were done, many already developed interest in the field.



9FE45D2A-6F38-49FE-8DC9-15210FC8FC5B.jpeg

People enjoying the GIS workshop as the WAIMM president(Michael) went around


As a GIS project student, I was delighted to be present and also follow his presentation. I definitely got some points to add to my work in order to polish it up.

Thank you for your attention.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow!... that was a good day, especially working on your school project and gaining knowledge from that workshop too. Thanks for sharing with uas😊.

It was quite a full day of learning and sharing. Thanks.

 2 years ago 

The workshop really helped you. It is through that you had additional information to spice up your project. Nice pictures, great write up. I am enthused for going through your day. Thank you for sharing.

It certainly did. GIS is quite exciting. I might be sharing some progress here soon.

 2 years ago 

That is good. I look forward to see more updates

My project is still on my mind. You are doing great being in Chapter 2

So long as you have a project topic in mind, you will be alright :)

I see.

Thanks for the insight

 2 years ago 

Projects are stressful and when you get a good supervisor, it becomes very easy. I pray you a nice project. I am glad the workshop went well. Steem on friend.

@juzkid upvoted you 🎉🎉🎉🎉

 2 years ago 

I am so glad to to see this. GIS is a powerful tool with no limited usage , make goods use of what you have especially in your project work.

Thanks for sharing your day with us.

I get goose pimples when its about project works. Some lectures makes it soo stressful. Keep it up bro

Thank you for sharing this wonderful day with us. I hope the workshop went on well?

It certainly did bro 😎

Hi, @njaywan,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94