Overcoming Depression

in Steem Ghana3 years ago

Jan20_15_650038687..jpg
source

Depression

image.png

In this life of ours we've obviously encountered this before. The feeling of emptiness, no or almost no self-worth, loss of appetite amongst many others are what we feel in moments of depression. It comes in many forms and appears almost silently like it was never there.


Depression (major depressive disorder) is a common and serious medical illness that negatively affects how you feel, the way you think and how you act.
source


It's a growing phenomenon in this age and it's been known to even affect people of all ages even kids. It's high time we started helping people around us because we never know what they might be going through. Atimes, just checking up on them or being around them is enough for them to feel enough and wanted and this is especially true for me.
It pays to be on the lookout for changes in people around us.


Changes and symptoms you might notice are;

  • Loss of interest in things one enjoyed
  • Feelings of sadness or loneliness or both
  • Loss of appetite
  • Sleeping too much or being unable to sleep
  • Feelings of worthlessness
  • Suicidal thoughts

image.png

Redirect That Emotion For Productivity

image.png


Like many others I've experienced depression several times and I've come to accept it just as we have happiness, sadness, joy, confusion and frustration. All these are apart of life and what counts is how one manages them and choosing not to succumb to it.
I for one, realized I'm able to write much better and express myself much better in my writings when I'm depressed. Instead of simply wallowing in depression and being moody, find something you could channel that emotion into. By doing this you cope with the depression rather than it taking a hold of you and your life.


There are lots of ways to cope with or overcome depression. Exercising is a good one, relations with people is another and finding new things to do it great as well. By investing time in such activities there will be no time for your mind to wander off into depression.


Here is one product of my depression from some years ago:

It ain't easy - this life I live
Pleasure gone, pain ever present
Nothing sweet exists anymore
Only the bitter and sour remain
Hopeless - Nothing to live for
Death beckons, without a toll or fee
Free to end it all
In my own time
At my right time
But in due time
A spark of hope appears
It's source unknown
Renewing all, even my thoughts
Then it hits me
I'm in control - Master of my sea and Captain of my boat
Life is never planned
But we make it what it should be

image.png
Thank you for your attention

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This is great. I have really given details of it especially the sign and symptoms.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you as well. It's important not to give in to it but to rise instead

 3 years ago 

Hmm when it comes to depression hmm..

Most of us experience it ma g. The important thing is how you react to it

 3 years ago 

Well yeah.

Nice piece bro. 👏👏👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35