Contest Entry On Tell Us About An Inspirational Story About A Friend That Will Motivate Us.

in Steem Ghana3 years ago


image.png


I was in the kitchen preparing supper when I suddenly heard a knock on the door.

I quickly stopped all what I was doing and run to living room to check who was Knocking on the door.
It was my mother who was from the farm sobbing, I asked her about what happened when she went to the farm with my father and senior brother and she told me they got bitten by a snake so they had to be rushed to the hospital.

After saying this mom collapsed in my arms and I cried for help.
My neighbours gathered around and helped my carry my mom to the hospital.
When the doctor diagnosed her the only thing he could do was to shake his head.
I was saddened by his reaction and asked him what was wrong.

He said mom has gotten stroke and it could become worse of care is not taken.
My life had taken a bitter turn on me, I had my final year examinations to write for Wassce and it was starting the following week.
I had to choose between sitting down and looking after my mom and also going to study for my examinations.
I also had to take care of my father and mother.

After sometime I went back home to take care of things in the house and to also cook for my sick family.
The first few days was not complicated as well wishers came around the hospital to take care of my parents so I had sometime to study after cooking for the family.
I was a day student so It was not as complicated in the beginning.

When it happened i spend more time at the hospital taking care of my family than with my books and more to the point after the first week the love and support I had received before was no longer there.

Suddenly I had to dedicate more time to take care of my sick family and everything had changed for me.
Whenever I sat by a book to study I would doze off and only wake up when I had to prepare food and send to the hospital.

So fast forward we wrote the final exams which meant we had finished and my father and brother had gotten well but my mom was still not well as she was in a state of recovery.
But this time I had some time for myself but I still did the cooking since I was the only girl.

Results came out and I didn't pass, all my friends had made it and found their way into the university I on the other hand did not have anything to do as I was so disappointed in myself and when I showed the results to my family they were disappointed too but they understood what had happened and they understood why I failed.

But we did not have enough so I could not register me for resit examinations.
So I had to start selling all kinds of items to raise money for my resit exams because I was determined to go to the university.
So I started selling pure water.
I sold the pure water for a while and when the time came to register I did not have the required amount to register all the subjects.

So I had to continue selling the water until the following year I had the money to register, I registered and wrote the examinations.
This time around I was not distracted by anything so I could study really well for my papers.
When the results came out I had passed wonderfully but then there was no money to take me to school.
I had to wait for another year to see what the Lord will do for me.

But then I was told about a scholarship opportunity which was meant for brilliant but needy student by GNPC so I applied for it and by God's Grace I was chosen and now I am studying pharmacy at the Kwame Nkrumah University(KNUST) and I have no problems as some can cater for my fees and some of the money too is used to pay for my hostel.

Actually this is not my story but a story of one of my friends who is studying pharmacy at KNUST, I was not around to help her at the time of her hardship so she narrated to me what happened but u was the one who told her about the scholarship opportunity which she applied for and I am so proud of her.

I will like to show appreciation to @awuahbenjamin for giving us the opportunity to tell our stories and to tell our colleagues that it is never over until it is truly over.
What ever you are going through there is always a solution when you work hard and you are dedicated.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I have really enjoyed really your post,,you've shown that with determination, there is nothing we can't achieve for ourselves and our love ones.. Well done and I want to wish you all the very best in this contest...

Thank you.

Nice to see you upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51