Wear Your Steem Shirt Contest: How I educated a few people about Steemit: 14-04-21

in Steem Ghana3 years ago (edited)

Hi family. It's great to be back here again.
Since there's an ongoing contest about wearing the steem shirt and promoting steem(which I already had in mind), I decided to go out today and flaunt the shirt.
I've really enjoyed Steemit since I came in. It's been really helpful; I don't really waste time on "unnecessary stuff" anymore, I'd rather try to write a post or read others'.

So today, a friend I've been trying hard to explain steemit to was invited over for more explanation. He had already asked about it and shown some interest, but as we all know, most of us come in hoping they'll get money and turn millionaires the next day. He was only interested in the money part. But after the thorough lecture, he really understood it and his interest was piqued and that was quite surprising because I initially thought he'd just snub me and leave or something like that, but his interest in it now is better than how it was at first and he's thinking of joining. He hasn't made a decision yet but I'll be glad to help him with everything he needs, in any way I can.
After the "lecture", I took some pics with him and then we both moved out to town.

20210414_144514.jpg

20210414_144457.jpg

he's planning on joining, that's what the smile is all about


We met @blayforson too, who even clarified things more to him.

20210414_161730.jpg

with @blayforson


I wanted to make bean stew so I went to buy some ingredients i would need for that. I asked the vendor if she heard about steemit, and you guessed right, the simple answer was a feeble "No".
Her mum also came in but I told them I would come later to explain to them after I realised there was no way they could understand it today. Explaining Steemit to people like these (who aren't really conversant with the phone, internet or social media) can be quite difficult. I was still happy that I've at least made some introductions to them which from the look on their faces, you could see they were really interested. Who doesn't like to earn?? But like I said, I told them they should expect my return, I gotta prepare for that. Probably we will organize another meetup on a grand scale to advertise steemit, with the help of @njaywan (he's the only one available here at the moment).

20210415_112102.jpg

20210414_163439.jpg

before her mum came.


After buying the things, I moved with @blayforson to my hostel but on my way, we met some friends and colleagues who were playing the chess game.They saw my shirt and started asking questions. I explained to those who looked interested (obviously,some were clearly not interested) and moved on. Some said they'd come for more explanation, but others thought it was just fake no matter how hard I tried; they had this kind of pessimism and thoughts like that but it didn't bother me, they would understand one day; maybe after their friends start earning and becoming better, they will finally understand. I was like that too, I'm hard to convince.

20210414_164337.jpg

20210414_164324.jpg

the guys playing chess, some had time for me, but others, not so much.


I moved out of there after I felt my work there was done. I got home and started working on my beans stew.

20210414_185343.jpg

20210414_184257.jpg

20210414_182641.jpg

20210414_182633.jpg

making the stew, it's quite easy


I had to go and watch the champions league matches so I did my chores very quickly. I called my friend again and we moved to the place to watch the match. I didn't wear my shirt to the place, it was a little dirty and also I didn't want anyone to soil it any further since the place was very crowded. I helped one newbie(like myself, only fresher than I am) out with explanations about some things. He was also there to watch the match. I gladly helped.

20210414_192601.jpg

20210414_192546.jpg

20210414_192540.jpg

during the Liverpool-Madrid match


After the match, we all moved home.

I was glad to explain steemit to some people today and the shirt made all the difference(people started asking after the saw the shirt). I will often wear it and keep educating people. I just hope there will be another contest like this.

Thanks for your time and attention.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Good work done bro May the most high god richly bless you, thanks for promoting steemit to higher extend .

I appreciate that bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63