The Diary Game// Getting samples// June 9th//club100

in Steem Ghana2 years ago

Hello readers, welcome to my post. I'm pretty sure we're all doing well by God's grace.
I want to talk about my activities for the day and I do hope you don't get bored by it.

I decided to set a day out to go get my samples for my project before finally going home. We will be making some lab analysis on the mineral content and chemical content of the soil types(typically clay) in Navrongo town.
This will help in checking the real culprits of structural failures in the area; cracks and other failures in buildings in Navrongo are a real nuisance.

big crack.jpg
cracks! Crap!

Getting to know the clay types and their mineralogy can actually aid in knowing the proper methods to be used when putting up a building.
I do hope my project gets appreciated by future builders or people who will put up structures on the land of Navrongo. As much as I hate the place, I think this will make me feel a little good and important to the town for the help I'll render after this project becomes successful.

So I set off around 11am in the morning and met @blayforson, who helped me with the pictures and stuff like that.
My main targets were places where pits had been made for construction of manholes. These sites were easy to fetch the clays or soil from. I didn't really have any tools to dig and I didn't have any proper sample bags to keep them in so I just went along with normal polythene bags.
I took the samples from 3 sites, each time taking the GPS locations and the photos of the places where the samples were picked from.
The first was picked from a manhole nearby the campus and the rest were picked from other places where pits had been dug for easy fetching of the soil.

20220607_134953.jpg
photo by @blayforson right before I picked the soil



20220607_151958.jpg
another place revealing the dominance of clay in the 'earth' of Navrongo



Screenshot_20220607-134819_GIS Surveyor.jpg
Coordinates taken using GIS surveyor



We encountered a bull 🐮 on our way to the second sample. It seemed gentle and was probably wondering why I had a phone directing at him. I got a photo of it, it looked majestic but I was far from it as possible. I didn't like the way it was staring at me and I was so ready to fly in case he charged at us😂😂.

20220607_141047.jpg
I told you I was far🥲😂😂, better safe than sorry



I also took a photo of a termitarium. It looked like a good source for my sample, full of clay and all that but I decided to take some from the pits; they looked more like what I wanted.

20220607_141038.jpg
a big hole/entrance on the other side. What if there was a snake 🐍inside?🌝

After being in the sun with my friend for like an hour, we departed because he was leaving Navrongo in the evening; his bus was leaving around 7pm.
When I got home, I took my shower and ate kenkey, it was very nice and I don't know if that was because I was famished.

20220509_133449.jpg
kenkey, omelette, ketchup, sardine, hot sauce, green pepper 😶.



I wanted to make a report on the sampling as requested by our supervisor but I didn't, I was lazy so I planned to do it the next day.

This is how my day went folks, hope yours was good and less stressful 🙂..

Thanks for reading and May God be with us all 🌹✌🏽🙏🏾.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your day with us. Keep up with the good work your doing.

Your post was upvoted by one of Hustle Accepted's members

We're inviting you to post in our humble community that cares about all kinds of growth; emotional, mental, physical, and professional growth.
When you post quality content we promise to give you the highest level of support we can provide.
Help us grow as we'll always be doing the same for you.

hustle accepted.png

Post at Hustle Accepted
Also, use the tag #hustleaccepted to get our support.
Visit our website at Hustle Accepted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94