You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Depth Perception and Depth Cues

in Steem Ghana3 years ago

"Our brain also interprets things that are smoother in our visual fields to be farther away whereas those that are closer to be rougher."

I have seen this being used mostly in the drawing of mountains, the mountains that an artist wants to be seen farthest will be made smooth and lighter, and the mountain that is closer will be made rougher and darker in colour and contrast.

"Objects in the mirror are closer than what they appear to be"

This is because a convex mirror is used in vehicle mirrors, and the property of a convex mirror is to show a wide field view of the objects, and also it makes them look larger.

All in all good presentation. This would become the best post for me, if you could explain how the convex lens in our eyes works.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Haha, thanks so much for the feedback I must say I’m glad to see that my post actually got a read and a positive feedback.

In answering your question, the lens in the eye has a property that we call accommodation which I would properly treat again in another post for your benefit.

This property enable it to assume both convex and concave shapes in terms of the properties of these lenses thus enabling it to switch to making near objects clearer when need be and far objects clearer too where need be.

It is an interesting phenomenon that you would enjoy reading and learning about I’m sure, I dunno if you get my point though however you can ask for further clarification.

PS: ‘Obiects in the mirror has no direct relation to the eye though and was added to bring humor and fun to my writing’.

Thanks once again, cheers!

"I must say I’m glad to see that my post actually got a read and positive feedback."

This will happen mostly if people start focusing on the quality of content rather than the economical benefit. There are people who post random and copied comments over and over again, but do not add any value to the post.

"This property enable it to assume both convex and concave shapes in terms of the properties of these lenses thus enabling it to switch to making near objects clearer when need be and far objects clearer too where need be."

I read in my school textbooks that we cannot read if the text is nearer than 25 centimeters, but for me this value is less.

 3 years ago 

This will happen mostly if people start focusing on the quality of content rather than the economical benefit. Some people post random and copied comments over and over again but do not add any value to the post.

Indeed, I am keen on getting quality out there rather than quantity which is why if I am not ready to write and write well I do not post.

I read in my school textbooks that we cannot read if the text is nearer than 25 centimeters, but for me, this value is less.

There is something called the Near Point of Accommodation, you may want to check this out, this varies according to person and is probably one of the reasons why your near point may not be up to 25 centimeters. Also, let me add that as we grow our accommodation power reduces taking our close point from 25 centimeters even further than that. If you are 40 years and above you will probably fall within this group otherwise known as presbyopia. I would also treat this topic as the days go by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65