My First Two Months Experience with Steemit and Cryptocurrency

in Steem Ghana3 years ago

It is a know fact that most things we have around had begun somewhere. We see a lot of documentation about when one stuff began, when innovation or another was done, when a particular person did one thing or another and so on. In like manner, mg sojourn in Steemit had a beginning.

Some time around early April 2021, I was opportune to embark on a trip with my friend and boss @utibeorffiongart to somewhere within the hinter lands of Akwa Ibom State, here in Nigeria. If I can recall accurately, I was to go an celebrate with a colleague who was getting married.
IMG_20210402_163118_032.jpg
Some of my colleagues at the traditional marriage ceremony.

It began like most of the other outings, the random chattering and exchange of banter that is characteristic of my colleagues. I happen to be sitting next to this my friend and after a while, I began following his lines. He was talking about "hive" was like this and that and how he was earning from "Steemit". I am sure that you know by now, these were completely alien terms to me.
Fast forward, I signed up for Steemit that very day. With my friend's assistance, I was able to set up my profile and my account was up and running.

Screenshot_20210606-045952.png
Here you can see my profile page and when I signed up for Steemit.

My Activities in Steemit

After I had signed up, I was excited and happy. The prospect of writing posts and earning was a great thrill for me.

IMG_20210402_144428_169.jpg
The very first picture I took and edited so I could post since I heard Steemit was basically about photos and write ups. My intention was to post something related to nature and the sun. I hope to still post it someday.

During my signing up process, I had subscribed to a number of communities. I went ahead to scan a few posts in these communities and familiarize myself with the platform. So I hastily proceeded to making posts in two different communities.

Screenshot_20210606-050121.png
One of the two posts I had made after signing up.

Screenshot_20210606-050109.png
The second post I made after signing up. They were a total failures. I had not read or researched at all about how posts were made here on Steemit. You can imagine how it all went down.

Screenshot_20210606-050519.png
My first post for introduction.

Screenshot_20210606-050657.png
My reintroduction post. My first introduction post spanned out and I was not verified. It seems my post was unacceptable. Thus, I was advised to make a second post.

Screenshot_20210606-050239.png
The very first comment I received on my post.

IMG-20210607-WA0001.jpg
Talking about up votes, this is the first post that earned me some up votes. It was a happy children's photography contest.

Coincidentally, the first contest that I won was in this very community of @Steem-ghana. It was hosted by @nattybongo. I was about describing my culture where I gave highlights about traditional marriage in my native ibibio land.

Screenshot_20210606-050847.png
The cover photo for my first post.

Screenshot_20210606-051445.png
This particular comment was simply uplifting from @nattybongo

Screenshot_20210606-051047.png
Here my post entry was being acknowledged.

I cannot fully express how I felt when opened @Steem-ghana and what I saw first was my photo in the front page and I saw contest announcement. I was simply jubilant. It was a great and memorable experience for me.
So, moving forward within the past months, I have created some posts, took part in various contests, won some and lost so many.

IMG-20210607-WA0000.jpg
Some days are like this. See as this post went totally unnoticed earned no up votes.

I have moved from achievement level 1 to achievement level 3 in the @nemarkingcommunity. I know I am moving too slowly though. I plan to do better in the coming days.
I now promote Steem currency as I would a personal brand. I have been able to sign up some of my friends on the platform. I know that Steemit is quite credible and sustainable so I hope to have some investment in it. I plan to purchase some Steem and save in future.

My Challenges

I have had a few challenges here on Steemit. The major one being the complex nature of marking down post and editing them. Also, creating contents require so much investment in time. You need to spend some time packaging your article and arranging it properly.

Steemit platform also seem to be very heavy and requires much data investment. These challenges are actually not quite limiting and I am successfully overcoming train

Achievement and Prospect

During the period of my engagement in Steemit, I have been able to accumulate some Steem, Steem power and Steem Dollar. I have made withdrawals twice and it was such a fun experience. I still have some Steem Dollar and Steem in my wallet which I am saving for rainy days or if I have an urgent need to power up.
So for now, I am still keeping an open mind hoping to learn more and gain more experience in Steemit. Hopefully, I will be able to acquire significantly high knowledge of cryptocurency and be able to earn more.

Prior to this time, I had very minute idea about crypto currencies. I was not even interested in the whole stuff. In fact, at some point, I had the feeling it was a shady kind of thing. I could not imagine dealing with money I could not see and touch. It was rather very strange. However, at present, I have acquired a deeper understanding of crypto currencies and I can give a fair explanation of what it is all about. On the very least, I can tell what Steem and Steem dollar is. Now, I regularly check how the prices of the currencies are fluctuating and try to formulate possible causes and theories behind the trends.

Screenshot_20210607-130909.png
By hard work and commitment, I hope to continuously redeem more and more SBD and Steem power as this.

On the whole, I would say that my experience so far have been quite rewarding and exciting.

@steem-ghana
@nattybongo

#steemexclusive
#ghcontest
#steem
#crypto
#promo-steem
#nigeria

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

A fully experienced experience haha, thanks for your entry and your participation all the best bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42