GEEKZ UNITE! Initiating Hive-187525...Loading Super Powered Robot Unicorn with Friggin' Laser BeamssteemCreated with Sketch.

in GEEKZ4 years ago (edited)

thumb_geekz.jpg

Hey, what can I say? It's a new toy.

Steem Communities was launched today, and everybody...their dog...their grandma's dog...and the neighbor's kid...

...have all started launching communities!

Yay!

I'm sure by next week, there will be a community for everything under the sun. There will be Paint Sniffer communities...Anti-Paper Straw communities...Competitive Hopscotch communities...

It's funny, because I'm wondering if the Steem user base is currently large enough to sustain the number of communities that we all probably want to create. I guess it depends on whether cross-community posting is allowed. Is it? I dunno. Somebody tell me in the comments whether we can post to more than one community at a time. If so, that would be cool.

That would definitely solve some issues. For example, it won't take long before there are lots of communities that revolve around the same exact topics and subject matter. All of those communities may benefit from a post I make, but if I'm forced to select only one community out of the bunch...I'll be sad that the other communities of like mind won't see the content.

Hmmmm.

Welp, whether or not that issue exists...I decided that considering the current active users on Steem, we probably don't want to get TOO niche with the communities. At least, not yet.

I propose that the most successful communities will be those that have a themed umbrella under which several sub-categories may exist. Case in point, the new community I created:

GEEKZ

If I create a doodle of Baby Yoda from The Mandalorian, I don't want to be conflicted about whether to share it with a comic book community, Star Wars community, or TV community. There's a ton load of overlap in the mentality of people who like all those things. The same people who like Lord of the Rings will probably like Star Wars. And people who like Star Wars will probably like Marvel movies. And all those people will probably appreciate comic book art, trading card games, and collectibles with large heads.

In other words, imagine a community based on comic con culture. There's a LOT to like, share, and discuss for a wide range of people. A community like that would theoretically have sufficient content from enough people to generate a daily feed of stuff for subscribers to look at on their lunch break.

At least, that's the dream.

Do I have a master plan? Nope. Like most of you, I'm just playing in the sandbox making truck noises. But if there's any traction, I'd love to designate moderators that are passionate about any number of related Geek sub-categories. Maybe it would eventually evolve into a Tribe or reward its own token or organize real life get togethers at popular comic conventions. Who knows?

Ideally, it would be a GROUP effort. A collaborative project. A social experiment that empowers all of us GEEKZ to geek out together like the ninja space pirates we are. If you're interested in helping to spearhead this idea, let me know in the comments.

If that sounds cool to you, try this link (I think...I dunno if it will work...if it doesn't, explore communities by searching for "GEEKZ"):
https://steempeak.com/c/hive-187525/created

By the way, I'm not sure if Keychain integration is fully working yet with the new communities feature. If you have any issues subscribing or posting or whatever, you MIGHT need to manually log in with your posting key. At least, that's what I had to do...

BAM. Let's do this!

sig-steem_@nateaguila.png

Sort:  

SteemPeak has premiered a cross posting tool that looks great on their interface as it embeds the linked post properly, but on other front ends it shows as a simple text link. I hope it’ll become a standardized implementation that Steemit & others will code in fully.

I’d suggest reading the full recent article on their blog, but it allows you to share your own stuff, or other people’s posts into communities by generating a new “comment post.” The original content author gets 90% of the reward, the curator(sharer) gets 5% and the community account gets 5%. This is true of posts past the 7 day payout too. With this feature, if a post keeps getting shared around, it can keep earning in perpetuity!

They’re of course stressing to follow individual community wishes & guidelines on using this feature, and you’ll want to come up with your own & moderate accordingly.

Awesome! Sooper nice. Thanks for the info. I’ll have to check it out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @nateaguila!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.320 which ranks you at #781 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 780).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 90 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @nateaguila!

You just got a 1.56% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I won't lie, at first I didn't understand why we needed Communities, but now that's live it's pretty cool! I found lot of people that I never read before.
I'll try to post at least once a week in GEEKZ!
If you need help with something just let me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32