THEME OF THE DAY - DAILY CHALLENGE: HORROR | @sanyazulfiqar

in Beyond Event Horizon3 years ago

EC7DB09A-FC67-4207-AF2F-B3AE59E31174.jpg

Hope you all are having a great day!

Although horror is one of my least read genres because I cannot stand the frightful imagery, I decided to come out of my comfort zone and pick a horror read this spring.

Before I get into the story, I would like to talk a little about the author - Krystal Sutherland. Her debut young adult romantic fiction, Our Chemical Hearts (later adapted into a movie), notwithstanding its hype, failed to impress me. I had high hopes from the novel because I had heard nothing but amazing reviews. When her latest novel House of Hollow came out on 30th March 2021, I was hesitant at first. Even though the plot was intriguing, I was not sure if I wanted to spend my time on another book by her. Well, surprise surprise, she proved me wrong!

I am guilty for ALWAYS judging books by their covers and House of Hollow has one of the most breathtaking covers I have ever seen. Flowers with blood seeping out of a young girl’s visage, and ants and insects moving freely; creepy and picturesque at the same time. I was sold. Do I regret it? Not at all! Turns out, it was a 5/5 read for me!

The plot, on the other hand, is quite exceptional. Three Hollow sisters, Iris, Grey and Vivi mysteriously went missing as kids and returned back exactly after one month on the same spot but their appearances had changed. Three prominent altered features were their eyes, which were now shadowy, hair that had turned white and a scar that was visible on their throat and shaped like a crescent. But that’s not even it; the month for which they had disappeared has been erased from their memories. They remember nothing: what happened to them? Who took them? How did they return? Nil.

But the menace is still lingering on the sisters after years of incident. The story narrates the journey of the youngest Hollow, Iris, to discover the truth behind their disappearance because it is not over! But, how will she discover it without any clue or memory is the challenge. And, not to spoil it for you but the it is about to get very scary…

Hope you liked the write-up 😃

Thank you @event-horizon for hosting these daily themes!

BR,
@sanyazulfiqar

Sort:  

I want to read this book now.
Brilliant review!

@event-horizon, you will love it! The suspense is FAB!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59