Contest # 7 | Worst Book You Ever Read | By @sanyazulfiqar

in Beyond Event Horizon3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Hope you all are doing well! The book I have chosen for this contest is The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen because it is my lowest rated book ever!

IMG_1836.jpg

"I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning how to sail my ship."


What is it about?

So apparently, this psychological thriller is about a love triangle and claims that you will assume that a wife is jealous of her husband's mistress. If I am being honest, no one would make that assumption really because if it's that obvious then what's the point of the story? And where's the suspense?

A lousy attempt to create curiosity!


But, why was I so disappointed?

When you are reading a suspense thriller, the expectation is that throughout the story, you'll come across hints towards the big reveal and at the end of the story, you'll know who the culprit really was. Well, that's not the case with this one. Although I read it quite some time ago, I still remember being frustrated over the fact that the revelation took place in the epilogue. In just a few words. Made me wonder why I even cared to read the previous 300 or so pages.

I would have not be bothered much if the suspense was worth it! Turned out to be quite ordinary and nothing that would leave one in awe. The characters were weak and lifeless, in my opinion, who contributed absolutely nothing to keep the reader interested and engaged. Me being me, somehow finished the story in the hope of a spine-chilling thriller but was left disappointed.


Have you ever been disappointed after reading a highly-praised book?


Thank you Steem Library for another interesting contest!

Tagging to take part in this contest: @aniqamashkoor @kinzaghauri @hibbanoor @sampu @jyoti-thelight

Best regards,
@sanyazulfiqar

Sort:  

yeahh seems like it's not good at all xD

Yups!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05