Steem Library Application For The Communities Of The Month Support Program

libs.png

Respected @steemitblog,

I am pleased to see the Communities of the Month Support Program. With the flux of steemit promotions, many new users joined and many new communities were formed. It was the need of the hour, to form a sound plan to support communities that have the potential to grow into something meaningful and leave a positive impact on the steem ecosystem.

I am hereby applying for the support program as the admin and founder of Steem Library.


Community Purpose


The main purpose of Steem Library is to gather readers and book lovers on one platform. In this digital era, people are getting far from books. Whereas, reading is essential to stimulate the brain and helps us to learn different perspectives. Moreover, it helps one to write better which can also be beneficial for a steemit blogger.

To generate reading interest in people and keep old readers stick to this habit, we create activities and contests for them in Steem Library. This will help them to engage with fellow readers and share their knowledge as well.

Libraries are the gateway to Knowledge.

Before creating this community, I thoroughly checked if there is any community with the same theme. But I found none.

There is Writing & Reviews community but it has a more general theme whereas Steem Library is solely focused on books and reading.

People should join Steem Library because they can get to know about masterpiece books ever written. Personally, I have got to know about so many good books since the creation of this community and have engaged in healthy discussions with fellow readers.


Community Team


I am the admin of Steem Library and @sanyazulfiqar is the moderator. We are both Pakistanis.

Right now, I am on the hunt for the next moderator that would be from another country. I just don't want to select a moderator randomly or just for the sake of it. I monitor their activities and when I am convinced enough that they will show the same passion and help me build this community, only then I will select them. So I am not hurrying into this matter. However, I have few people in mind, will hopefully announce the next moderator very soon.

I will be rewarding the moderators with a fixed percentage of liquid steem every month from the community funds.

For now, I have safely kept the keys and have no plan to leave this community. But as soon as I hire more moderators, I will be making one of them an admin and share the keys with them just to be on the safe side.


Community Curation Account


@thesteemlibrary is the community curation account.

Right now, it has 497 steem power of its own and has 300+ liquid steem. I am collecting the steem on this account to participate in the coming SPUD. So will be powering it up all on 1st August.

There are no delegations as of yet and I haven't asked the members too. Because first I want to make the delegation myself then I can convince others to delegate.

I have a total of 2675 steem power of my own. I delegated 1500 steem power to two other communities that are really important for me. @steemit-pak and @steemwomensclub. I am the moderator there as well and working hard for the growth of those communities so I can't take back that steem power. Steem Library is my own creation and is equally important but it formed later so it will take a little time to grow.

That's why I am working on building up my steem power by powering up 50% of the steem I earn through author rewards. I have been consistently doing it for two months. No matter how little or how big amount I earn, I simply power up the half at the end of every week. Right now, my effective steem power is 1167. I am just waiting for it to hit 1500 then I will make the first delegation to the Steem Library and create a two-way beneficial delegation program for the members.

In addition to the delegation program, I have a plan to ask members to set @thesteemlibrary beneficiaries in their post rewards. I can't do this now because members have no voting support and get almost zero rewards. Hopefully, If I get the support for Steem Library, I will make a sound plan for setting beneficiaries that will help boost the SP.

Other than that, If I can ever afford to buy steem with my own money, it will be definitely used to power up the @thesteemlibrary account.

Maximum of the post rewards are used for power-up. Initially, I paid the contest winners with my personal steem and used the community rewards to power up. But I don't have enough support to keep this going on. So post rewards are also used for rewarding winners, paying moderators, and in near future for delegation rewards.

Right now, only I have access to voting through a community account.

There is no voting CSI score right now. I have been voting on all posts but the number of posts is not enough to generate a good CSI. Hopefully, it will increase with the increase in users as I am making sure to give votes to each eligible post.

I am voting every post (that is not plagiarized of course) with a curation account.


Plagiarism and Abuse


@sanyazulfiqar (Moderator) is vigilantly checking all the posts for plagiarism and content farming. People who commit plagiarism in any way either text or image are labeled accordingly and kept under observation.

To keep the fake accounts at bay, we check the achievement 1 post of the newcomer's community. Right now, the community is small so it's easy to check that way. In the future, I will make the proper verification system like I am already doing in the women club.


Engagement and Commenting


I and the moderator make sure to leave feedback on each post in the community. We encourage our members to do the same. So there's no post in the community which is left alone.

With the increase in the number of posts, we will have new moderators by then too. So we will divide the task to keep things running smooth and efficiently.


Plans and Updates


I am posting updates and plans weekly and sometimes more than once a week. I make all the posts from the community account.

Yes, I have a road map for Steem Library. Some key points of the future plans are:

  • Conduct fun and easy contests for the first few months to gain subscribers and increase activity in the community.

  • Once there are enough genuine members, then work on convincing them to delegate and support the community in any way they can.

  • With the increase in members, I will appoint new moderators most probably from different countries. They will promote Steem Library in their areas.

  • We will make an online library or book store for each region. People will be able to buy or borrow books in exchange for steem.

  • I have this crazy idea in my mind whenever I read a crypto lecture, to compile all the crypto academy lectures into a book or multiple books according to difficulty levels and make them available for all Steemians. Steem Library would promote and sell those books and use the earned steem for growing the community account. Professors will have their good share as well for each sale. This is just a very raw idea that needs a lot of time and thought to see if it would be beneficial for all. I would love to have input on this from @steemcurator01 and @sapwood.


Promotion


We are launching Twitter and Instagram accounts. I will choose two supervisors for both accounts who will promote Steem Library there.

Current moderator @sanyazulfiqar is also a successful Bookstagrammer and an influencer with a large following. She's working on promoting Steem Library to her followers. We are very hopeful that with her promotions, a larger amount of traffic will move to Steemit and Steem Library.

Aforementioned, online libraries for different regions will play an important role in the promotions. Moreover, if I get a positive response for compiling crypto lectures into books - Steem Library, Crypto Academy and Steemit itself will get promoted.


Anything Else

All the goals and aims that I have mentioned above can only be fulfilled if Steem Library gets vote support. Quality content, engagement, and growth of the community are directly proportional to vote support. If there is no vote support, people don't bother to waste their energy on creating content. It's a truth that users tend to shift where they can get votes. So without voting support, it would be really hard to grow the community at a steady rate.

I am an honest person, I assure you that if I get the support for this community, I will put it to the best use. You will have no complaints and hopefully, very soon Steem Library will emerge as one of the best communities on Steemit.

Why do I believe that I can do this? People who have made me a moderator of Steemwomensclub and Steemit Pakistan gave me the confidence that I have the potential and ability. I have gained a lot of experience by working for both communities.

All posts in the community are steemexclusive.

A special feature, which we don't have yet, could be that we can invite professional authors to join Steemit and publish lectures for members on writing skills and guidance for emerging authors. This is not in the plan yet. I want to make the community strong and famous enough first to invite and attract professional authors to it.


Thank you!

Kind Regards,
@event-horizon
Founder Steem Library

Sort:  

awesome proposal @event-horizon, I really hope you'll get the support!

Thank you so much!

Do you use discord? I need to talk to you. Drop a message at event-horizon#5635.

I have, but I'm in and out .. will reach you out when I'm online

Great proposal @event-horizon! Hope to see this community thrive!

Thank you!

Amazing Proposal. Insha Allah our Community will grow day by day. Ameen 🤗🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32