My Vision for Steem Library and its Mechanism

in Beyond Event Horizon3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210505_200207-03.jpeg


Steem Library is my brainchild. I have had random ideas and scattered thoughts about it for so long. I was afraid to put them into action because I did not know whether I would be able to achieve what I want. But I won't be able to know that until I start it. Right?

So Finally, I took the courage and launched this community. The aim is to gather all book lovers from around the globe in one place. But as the name says, it is a Library, I want to function it as a Library too. There will be other activities of course to keep the members engaged.

I want people to lend and borrow their books. I spent days thinking about how can I make it practical and functional. I am sharing my rough plan.


How will it work?

Catalogue the books

1- I will invite all the steemit users, bookstagrammers and all the book lovers I know who are willing to lend their books.

2- Then I will make a catalogue of all the books, which will be available for borrowing. I will probably make it country-wise, to give people the option to exchange within their country at ease.


Exchange Procedure

3- Once the borrower places the request of a book(s), he/she will transfer a fixed security fee of the book to the community account.

4- Then the lender will dispatch the book.

5- Borrower will have a one-month time limit to finish the book.

6- After that (s)he will return the book to the lender.

7- When the book is received by the lender, the borrower's security fee will be refunded.

8- If the borrower damages or misplaces the book or doesn't return in one month, the security fee will be transferred to the lender.

(The security fee will be fixed to 5 Steem per book regardless of the price of the book.)


Shipping Charges Dilemma

9- Now the main issue is shipment charges. Who will bear them? Shipping charges can sometimes cost more than the book.

I have thought a lot about it and I came to the conclusion that the community account will bear that expense by giving little votes enough to cover the shipment charges of both parties.

The local shipping charges in Pakistan are approximately equal to 1 steem. I hope that it's more or less the same in other countries as well.

I could transfer 1 steem to the parties but I want to build up the steem-power of the community to make it self-sufficient for the members. Also a small portion of steem will be allocated for contests but my main goal is to save every steem for the power-up so I can't distribute it all the time.

But as the community is just launched there's no steem-power to support. In the beginning, number of book exchanges will be less too as fewer people know about it so community account can bear the shipping charges bu giving steem for some time. But for the long term, it's not possible, if we want to build up the steem power.

Also, I think, If little votes from community account are given, not only the shipping charges will be covered but also it will encourage people to keep exchanging books.


Rent of Book

First I thought to make all the exchange procedures absolutely free. But I have just got an idea that if the community account gets rent or commission as low as 1 steem per exchange then members will also get to contribute to the steem-power.

I want suggestions on this. Should this be implemented or not? Or any other better way to build up the steem power fast like setting beneficiaries?

Open for all sorts of suggestions.


I seriously don't want to bother you @steemcurator01 but could you please give your input on my plan for this community. Do you think it's good enough? If yes then the plan would be functional with only your support.

Others please resteem this post so that the news can reach all the book lovers.

P.S. I will shortly set up the community account as well.


Founder of Steem Library
@event-horizon

Sort:  

Absolutely LOVE this ideaaaa! Great initiative

I'm pleased to see your response. Would love to have you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42