You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🆕 Do You Trust New Users?

in WORLD OF XPILAR11 months ago

So true... I don't have the time and leisure every day to really search extensively through everything that is published on the Steem. That's what my feed is for - and "my" favourite authors, for their part, sometimes resteem writers still unknown to me. The easiest way to discover new things...

Sometimes I stumble across pearls - when I was a Community Curator, there must have been four or five that I was allowed to discover apart from any Community Just the other day I found a user who has been active on the Steem since 2018, posts a very, very good poem about every 2 weeks - and has never received a single vote!

I myself also took part in a challenge last week because the topic appealed to me. As a review, I received the helpful hint that I should better stick to the given list of questions and the tried and tested outline... Have I written this before? It seems familiar to me somehow...

Never mind. Yes, I trust you for the time being. That gives me a better feeling than having to check everyone down to their underwear. Am I ever wrong? Of course. And why not...? It happens the same way in real life.

Sort:  
 11 months ago 

for their part, sometimes resteem writers still unknown to me. The easiest way to discover new things...

Ah yes, thank you for reminding me of this - it's how I've recently found 2 authors that I'm now following.

I also discovered somebody else recently purely by chance... I think upvu accused them of that hack (which they had nothing to do with) and it turns out that they're a very talented jazz musician who has been around far longer than me... I'm hoping they'll cancel their delegations (which they don't really benefit from) and join WOX so that we can get them some better curation and booming support. Time will tell 🙂

I received the helpful hint that I should better stick to the given list of questions and the tried and tested outline...

Oh dear... and if you listened to their advice, you would become yet another sheep following the herd.

I've probably taken inspiration from an Engagement Challenge but I really don't like the "assessment" of having my effort rated so will never enter one. I think there are better ways of appreciating somebody's work than giving them a score out of 10 based upon criteria unrelated to their efforts. Imagine if every time you wrote something, somebody replied giving you a grade like you were back at school. With a lolly if you do well. Not for me.

Never mind. Yes, I trust you for the time being. That gives me a better feeling than having to check everyone down to their underwear. Am I ever wrong? Of course. And why not...? It happens the same way in real life.

Once bitten, twice shy. I can't remember who it was now (I've erased them from my memory) but I remember being devastated that somebody I'd supported was a scammer themselves... ah yes, I remember. It was somebody who'd had their work plagiarised and they cried out for help, so I helped. Within a month, they were stealing other people's work. I didn't even feel angry... just sad. Linking back to what I wrote in my post, I've seen so much, from so many people that trust has become a slow process for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38