You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💭 Your Steemit Time Challenge

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

These are the ideas I like in @denmarkguy - Posts. In his mindset. In his demand on himself. But how many steemians are thinking and acting in that way? I'm doubtful...

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

These are the ideas I like in @denmarkguy - Posts

I find that many of his posts resonate with me and are thought provoking - when I try to write a comment, it always feels like it doesn't do credit to the quality of the post I'm replying to 🤣

But how many steemians are thinking and acting in that way?

I certainly feel it's a minority because it's hard to keep going with that level of effort without seeing good rewards. When I was a new user and I saw poor quality content getting $100+ rewards, it was disheartening - now that I've been here for longer, I realise that people have spent $80+ to get that.

I realise that people have spent $80+ to get that.

not at all, this is not a rule. it is partly a game of random, and partly some other nasty game of sorts I really dont want to discuss here. I dont run records list but I think everybody keep in their mind a lot of usercases to remember.

 3 years ago 

It's more the concept that most of the big payouts are because the author has "bought" their upvote which new users won't be aware of (hence the demoralising aspect). Whether that's from UpVu, Tipu, bidvote or a delegation to justyy or another user. There are so many new users who have replied "tipu curate" on their own posts or tagged upvu / tipu.

So they see the $100 payout and think that's a realistic payout if they write a good quality post whereas a payout of $2 of "manual curation" would be impressive.

I was certainly confused by the big payouts to somebody who'd shared a picture of a coin.

well, new users sooner or later will became experienced users if they do communicate and engage with their native (or not) language communities / good (experienced) steemians. if they stuck to posting posts vs reading commenting and engaging like oysters in their shell - well, perhaps then they will never know stuff like this at all. plausible?

 3 years ago 

Absolutely - The sad thing is that unrealistic expectations of making thousands of dollars when people join quickly destroys the spirit when the first 5 posts earn $0.01 (from steem-history) and good authors quickly leave.

At the moment, I do my best to support good authors in the hope that they stay but it's a real (Steemit Time) challenge with everything else I want to do on the platform (including maintaining existing relationships). A lot like the "New Business" / "Existing Customer" challenge in the world of business.

I'm starting to ramble now 😆

"Emotional bank account" - I will think about it. An interesting approach.

 3 years ago 

It's a cool analogy which might explain our reactions to some things. I know that with me, deposits take a long time to build up and then withdrawals are huge whereas other people are much more tolerant 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55