You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Towards a Better Life: The Wish to "Slow Down," but Will We Ever GET to?

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

From the very beginning, I have withdrawn from this structured system...

I have been professionally self-employed since I completed my education. And not to get rich or have others work for me. No, because I don't want to work under orders and I like to manage my time myself. That's why working hours and holidays, duty and after-work hours flow into each other - and I enjoy that. I don't have any problems with visiting clients at weekends or working 16 hours a day. Because I can just as reliably just relax for a fortnight...

I have not made a fortune this way. But I'm doing damn well ;-))

Diesem strukturiert vorgegeben System habe ich mich von Anfang an entzogen...

Ich bin beruflich selbständig, seit ich meine Ausbildung abgeschlossen habe. Und das nicht, um reich zu werden oder andere für mich arbeiten zu lassen. Nein, weil ich nicht weisungsgebunden arbeiten möchte und meine Zeit selbst einteilen mag. Darum fließen Arbeitszeit und Urlaub, Dienst und Feierabend gerne ineinander - und ich genieße das. Ich habe keinen Kummer mit Kundenbesuchen am Wochenende und auch 'mal 16 Stunden Arbeitszeit am Tag. Weil ich genauso verläßlich einfach 'mal zwei Wochen die Seele baumeln lassen kann...

Ich habe kein Vermögen erwirtschaftet auf diese Art und Weise. Aber es geht mir verdammt gut ;-))

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @weisser-rabe!

I was only part of the "circus" for a few years, working in the technology and computer industries and then I decided to be self-employed. The challenge I have found is that the world seems to be designed for those who are part of the mainstream workplace. At least here in the USA — which is so proud of the "independent spirit" — there is very little support for those who work for themselves, and even though I a self-employed, I end up working more because the cost of things like insurance, government pension taxes and medical services are higher for the self-employed.

The positive is, of course, the freedom. Some days I choose to work from 6:00 to 15:00 (for example if I can't sleep) and other days I might work from lunch till 23:00. And that I really like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42