Realistic Pencil Drawing with Detailed explanation

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

IMG_20210414_153857-01.jpeg

Here is another piece I made recently. Like always, this was made with graphite and charcoal pencils on pelican paper. It took about 4 hours to be completed and it is not the fastest I have done anyways.

The fastest was 1.5 hours but it was just a realistic face drawing with an impressionistic hair and cloth. I kind of liked the impressions though. I am a fan of impressionism but switching from realism to impressionism is a tough on for me.

I may try to make an impressionistic art but end up making realistic art. I hope to be very fluent at impressionism. For us who don’t understand what impressionistic art is, it is art that’s an impression of something and not the actual.

I made some impressionistic paintings sometime last year and lost them with my phone. I never underestimated backup since then. I still feel pained losing those paintings and even drawings that I made. I am still making arts so you will definitely get to see my impressions someday.

Now let's talk about how I made this

Screenshot_20210427-201621_YouTube.jpg
This is the outline of my drawing. It is the most important step when making realistic drawings or paintings. You must get it right by anymeans necessary. That's because if you don't get it right, your drawing won't look as good.

You can use grid method, projector, tracing, or freehand. Just use what works for you. There is no crime at all. This stage was done using 2b graphite pencil but the pencil I am holding here is a charcoal pencil. That's what I used in making the eyes.

With careful shading and blending with detailing, a good eye is achieved. Now let me talk about why some drawings look dead. It is simple; because it lacks details and highlights.

Never underestimate the power of highlights. It brings drawings to life. Not only drawings, even good photographs are ones with good lighting that gives good highlights.
Screenshot_20210427-201652_YouTube.jpg
Here I had drawn the eyes and a part of the skin. How this was done is simple; Shading first with a soft graphite say 2b-5b to get the forms and blending it with the charcoal dust and brush.

Dip in your brush in charcoal dust, make sure to try it on another paper first to get the desired tonal value and then proceed to blending. This must be done carefully.

Screenshot_20210427-201753_YouTube.jpg
We now move to the detailing process. When it comes to detailing, we need most importantly, erasers, pencils and Tortillon or Q tip(cotton buds) take for example you are making a skin pore: you first shade, highlight with eraser(mono zero or kneaded eraser) and then add the shadow if needed with either pencils, Q tip or tortillon. In this case I used the mono Zero eraser and my 2b to highlight and add shadow respectively.

Screenshot_20210427-201803_YouTube.jpg

With the same method discussed above, I make progress gradually using the same energy.

Screenshot_20210427-201833_YouTube.jpg
HURRAY!! It's time to draw our hair!!! Drawing hair has to be one of the interesting part when it comes to pencil drawing. How a hair is drawn is, first study how the hair of your subject is, the direction it is moving and the texture it has.

Then try put out what you have seen. The best way is to block the shadows first, that depends on how the hair is but most time, this works. In this case you have seen me block the shadows first, then blend softly. I blend with a soft brush and while I am still working on the hair, i shade the forehead and blend with the charcoal residue from the hair. It works almost all the time.

But what you have to know is, as you are doing this, you lose the tonal value of your hair so what you do when that happens is to block in the shadows again. After this is done, you carefully dot in your highlights using either mono zero eraser or kneaded eraser; both works but I prefer mono zero because it saves time.

Screenshot_20210427-201847_YouTube.jpg

Screenshot_20210427-201908_YouTube.jpg

We now move to drawing our mouth. Nothing so different though. But some artists find it difficult to draw the mouth most especially if the teeth is showing like in this piece.

Drawing the mouth will need you to shade and blend highlight and detail. Just be observant when doing it and be careful not to smudge the teeth area. That's a nightmare you should always avoid because it ends up making the teeth look terrible. So make your teeth as clean as possible

Screenshot_20210427-202117_YouTube.jpg

Screenshot_20210427-202138_YouTube.jpg

Screenshot_20210427-202209_YouTube.jpg
I left the teeth to complete the neck because I wanted to put them when I am more relaxed. Never rush drawing the teeth!!!

Screenshot_20210427-202234_YouTube.jpgAnd what you should also know about teeth drawing is, the teeth is never 2 dimensional, It is 3 dimensional so try as much as you can to shade, blend and Add highlights and details where necessary.

Screenshot_20210427-202316_YouTube.jpg

And for the cloths, how this was done was first, shading with a 2b graphite pencil and blending with a soft makeup brush that has a little charcoal in it, then blending again with a tissue paper and highlighted with eraser.

It's pretty easy and the details are also added using the method I mentioned above. I hope to see a testimony soon from someone who has been struggling to make realistic drawings.

IMG_20210414_153857-01.jpeg

I hop you enjoy viewing these progress shots and please watch a video I made while drawing this. See you!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 50 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Thank you!!!!!❤❤❤

 3 years ago (edited)

Fabulous drawing and well blended. What did you use to add the highlight? Mono zero eraser or white charcoal pencil?

Thanks much bro. I used mono zero eraser. I rarely work with white charcoal pencils

Wow the detail in this is fabulous! So talented! I’m the opposite I am so drawn to abstract I struggle to make things look real lol

Thank you so much. I love abstract but whenever I have an idea of it in mind, My hand interprets something very different. Lol how do I sinc both of them together?

It’s hard when your a perfectionist I think maybe get out paints and don’t drW first. That could help or only use a pallet knife etc.

I have tried that too. Still end up making something realistic. I will keep trying😁😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66