My Recent Pencil Drawing With a Brief Tutorial

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Greetings steemians

.
.
.
Today I bring to you a pencil drawing I made with my usual method of charcoal blending.
As usual, I will be sharing progress pictures of this piece as well as give a brief tutorial on some aspect of pencil drawing. So, grab a cup of coffee, relax and enjoy!

IMG_20210513_164534-01.jpeg

The materials I used in making this piece were, generals charcoal pencil (medium and extra soft), 3b graphite pencils, tortillon (a.k.a blending stump), tissue paper, erasers (tombow mono eraser and kneaded eraser), soft flat brushes and make up brushes.

Screenshot (89).png

The reason I use flat brushes is because it aids in precision. Take for example you want to shade a sharp edge; shading with a round brush will be more tactical than shading with a flat brush. And you can’t use a round brush for intricate areas like the eye lids, nostrils, eye lashes, the linings of the mouth, the ear, etc.

Screenshot (90).png

Screenshot (91).png

The only areas suitable for round brushes are areas with large surface and with an almost even tone. With this kind of areas, shading will be more simple and subtle and you will appreciate it more than shading with a flat brush.

Screenshot (92).png

Now about brushes, their texture plays a vital role in texturizing your tone. By this I mean, a brush with a very soft bristles gives a more soft and lighter tonal value than a brush with moderately soft bristles. Hard brushes don’t really work well with charcoal for it gives a very inconsistent shade and sometimes may damage our paper. So, to avoid this, it is better to work with a moderately soft brush.

Screenshot (93).png

Screenshot (94).png

Let us talk about tortillons

Tortillons are tools for blending and because they are tools for blending, it should be very soft. I have been seeing original tortillons in stores but I kind of dislike the original because it is always too hard and doesn’t allow for a smooth blending. So, whenever you are getting a tortillon, make sure it is the very soft one.
Here, I come to the end of this discussion, I hope you enjoyed reading through my publication

Sort:  

Hi @unyimeetuk, that is wonderful tutorial, I love the soft blending of your drawing and how you cover the area with what looks like powder or even make up.

Seeing that precise work and such result, you make me to want to try too. I actually have a lot of brushes may be later on next month when I am on annual leave I definitely try it.

Dear @steemcurator01, I would like to draw your attention to this wonderful realistic artist, here he is giving little tutorial how to reach the result of such realistic portrait.

Would be grateful for your support of this amazing Artist, he is posting exclusively on Steem.

Sincerely,

I will be so glad to see a pencil drawing from you inspired by my approach and thank you so much for drawing the attention of @steemcurator01 to my post. I will be posting more tutorials to cover as many aspects as possible.

And thank you so much for always supporting and encouraging my little efforts. I really do appreciate this and please is there a way I can talk you directly? Probably on discord if you wouldn't mind

OMG!! This is wild!! Much respect to your style and art brou, you really are one of the greats!

Thanks much Mr. Chris much love and thanks for the kind words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52