A Mind-Blowing Realistic Pencil Drawing Made with Charcoal and Graphite Pencils

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

_Hi steemians. It's another great day to take you into my world of art. Making art commercially can be very tedious becsuse it rarely give us time of our own. You can be called anytime to take a job and because want the money, you just gotta take it; that is, when the pay is good😆.

You just got to make sure you deliver on time so your reputation will still be intact.

IMG_20210714_083245-01.jpeg

Being an artist who takes commision has really taugt me alot; most especially to deal with people. Believe me it is stressful. But it is fun and the money and the accolades go a long way but I am actually thinking of going slow with commision because, for the past weeks, I haven't been able to achieve a goal for myself apart from the few money I made from drawing people which to me isn't very cool but I am thankful. I have finally cleared my desk for now and it's time to achieve goals like post regularly here, make new friends, be more active, paint more and also be consistent with my youtube.

I can do this I know for sure😆😁. Wish me well everyone.

20210713_150913.jpg

20210713_162849.jpg

This piece here was a commisioned piece and it was supposed to be a surprise gift. I did all I could to make the drawing come out great and I am happy it came out great. It took about 8 hours to be completed. Ahhh I think I lost my speed along the way. Stress is really bad!!!!

20210713_185209.jpg

Here are the materials I used
  • generals charcoal pencils
  • soft graphite pencils
  • tortillons or blending stump
  • tombow mono zero Elastomer eraser
  • kneaded eraser
  • flat brushes, makeup brushes
  • tissue paper
  • Drawing board
  • A clean sheet of small paper

The function of these materials are:

  • General's charcoal pencil: A chalky medium, used in drawing/shading dark tones and also to add dark details in drawing

  • Soft Graphite pencils: Used to draw outlines and also add shades in drawing

  • Tortillon/blending stump: a soft paper-like material used mainly for blending and to add details in drawing

  • Tissue paper: Used for blending

  • Soft flat brushes/makeup brushes: Used also for blending. The different textures of the brush gives different textures in the drawing

  • Tombow mono zero Elastomer eraser: used to clean unwanted part and also add highlights in drawing

  • Kneaded eraer: An eraser that can be folded to any shape, used also to add soft highlights and also clean unwanted parts in drawing

  • Paper: A base where we draw on. And about papers, the quality of paper matters, there are some that can hold our chalky medium more than others. But I most of the time make use of the pelican papers and bristol(strathmore) paper

  • A clean sheet of paper: This can be a very small sheet of paper that can be used to place our hands when drawing to avoid smudging our drawing.

Smudging is basically messing up our drawing with dirt's on our fingers. It can be dirt's from the oils on our hands or charcoal residue. Sometimes It is difficult to clean the dirt's off our drawings so it is best we avoid smudging our drawings.

Thank you for stopping by to read my publication. Have a good one guys!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You manages to do such expressive eyes and emotions. Absolutely gorgeous portrait!

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page or using tag #art-venture have priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Thank you so much @art-venture. 💓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97