Form sketches

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

I’ve been going back to basics and trying to do drawing studies in the evening not just paint all the time and go straight onto canvas. This evening I’ve been working on some dancer poses and meditative poses I’m working on quick two minute gesture forms. I actually really like the dancer really loose and think I might make it the centre of a painting to work on over the weekend. It’s fireworks night tonight and actually my cat really doesn’t care, she is so unbothered by anything but I really like this idea by classic FM to play relaxing music for pets you can check it out on the link below. I’m listening to it anyways just to chill myself out and get into the creative zone.

E2C24D94-A106-4FEF-A6D1-34B9644EDCE9.jpeg

CC72075E-EB2B-4F37-B025-4232FE4FC1B6.jpeg

7927E79D-74FE-4637-A1BF-01300C39D039.jpeg

5C0F29E9-28FF-4B7B-8CB2-315C50892BC8.jpeg

Sort:  

I didn't notice any links to your radio but I do the same with YouTube and find relaxing music for when I am working on my art. It's also a great idea to take time to do something different - sketching in this case - to keep your other artistic skills sharp!

I've been doing the same since becoming a full-time artist because I don't want to burn out and I do want to elevate my skills. People have never been a strong suit of mine so I am been trying to work on getting a little better with that.

Looks great, keep it up!

Oh I’m sorry I meant to and forgot at the bottom will link when I get home but it was the classic fm channel. I don’t normally listen to classical but for painting I am coming round to the idea it is good.

Same same for me, I paint spiritual abstract work but I do also want to get a lot better with form and proportions and am going right back to basics and teaching myself. I’ll go to a life drawing class I think. I realised these quick sketches are all about gesture and not trying to get detailed forms right so time pressures sketches are great for me as I am not interested in doing realistic art.

I also just had an idea now of how to make these into paintings or the dancers

 2 years ago (edited)

I bet the sketches would be pretty cool as something small like an ornament or coaster. A black coaster with these in acrylic and coated in epoxy resin perhaps.

Also, I bet you could find someone here on steemit with a post about "life drawing" and I guarantee you can find a plethora of YouTube videos on the matter. If you wanted to save the time/money opposed to a class that it. Sometimes being around others in that context could be more fun and motivating.

For music, I often go with "low fi" ambient stuff. They have channels on YouTube that will give you a couple hours worth. Relaxing and doesn't distract me.

Yeah agreed it’s just nice in person sometimes I think. We used to have one rly local I went to a couple of times before covid

And I think it’s easy to just paint paint paint rather than do the sketching homework and keep improving ones drawing

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04.
We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.


Curated by : @stef1

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36