Four tasks in three hours...steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Photo contest: post processing #17: Four tasks in three hours...

What if we play around to convert the same photo into multiple styles?
(say 4 at least) portrait, black and white, high key, some filter to choose from.
Thus, we could observe the transformation of the same photo into completely different styles.

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@bambuka/photo-contest-post-processing-17

Beside the question if „style“ is the correct word here – I understood to give at least 4 variations of the same photo, introducing the above criteria.

This is my origin, the still unvaried photo, taken not by me but by @weisser-rabe. It is in my eyes something like a landscape of three simultan portraits. The crop or cut out is no processing of mine but the original framing. A great snapshot, if you ask me. Perfect in itself at the right moment it was taken.

By the way, I will go on to work on it.

image.png
original photo: @weisser-rabe

The first step is the easiest, it seems to me: giving the photo more look of a „normal“ portrait. Bye-bye, cats! But I keep the black („empty“) spaces and add a dark grey frame to the ensemble as if to look inside a photo album and in the same moment looking out of a window. This is my variation #1 – the portrait.

image.png
my version #1: portrait

For the second variation I have to decide: will I go on with the result of variation #1, or take I a new excursion from the original? As I type these question, this is still open. But you will see my decision after a few hidden experiments.

Okay, this took me more than an hour – to find the fitting part and to decide for „hard“ Black & White (i.e. with just these two „colours“). And – hello again, one of the cats!

image.png
my version #2: black & white

Return to the original for variation „high key“ (minimizing of shadows).

The resulting intensity of the colours lead me to a long search for weakening this effect without giving up the task. I call it the perspective of the honey bee. Guess why… And hello again other cat!

image.png
my version #3: high key

The last of the 4 Herculian tasks should be quite easy, since I can choose the filter by myself. How long will it take? Let’s see…

Okay, too long. And still I'm not satisfied with it, but here it is as by now:

image.png
my version #4: filter (blur with selective focus)

See ya!
;-)

Sort:  

Ja , ein sehr diffiziles Photo und auch sehr schön wie Du Dich um das Katzenproblem herum laviert hast .

!invest_vote

 last year 

I call it the perspective of the honey bee.

I keep racking my brain in search of an answer... :)

I can assume that the initial photo was in the format of a selfie with two cats. Classic three objects, a triangle. But cropping has changed the meaning and makes you look for something in this picture. An interesting option :-)

What's more interesting, going over the options, I keep coming back to the last one... he stops my fuss...

The honey bee has in mind to filling its hexagonal footage boxes.
So am I - structuring my world with schemes and organizing it into pieces. Or vice versa. ;-)

 last year 

the eternal question... from the whole to the components or from parts to the whole :)
Analysis-synthesis-analysis-synthesis...decay... :-))

;-)

This may be the idea, but I think much to often the reality is:
From component parts to component parts with a mind by far to small to get the whole...
Anna & Cindy

 last year 

I think that the adherents of oriental medicine will be against it))

So may it be.
(Some people and more than zero philosophies / religions assure you to catch the whole with them.)

[edit]
More elaborated:

I know for sure that I do not see the whole.
I can assume for granted that my mind is not able to grasp the whole.

The conclusion is that I cannot know from (structural) components and not from (essential) parts of these.
So, I have to deal with the educated guess that I only see some fragments.

In respect to mathematics, I dare to go one step ahead and look on the given mathematical knowledge (without knowing it in broadness and details) as the truthful basics of this science.

In respect to physics and chemistry, I fear not to be allowed to such an optimistic view since I cannot prove the reliability of the concepts of space, time, matter and energy (as far as I understand them). Maybe these are biased or at least essentially narrowed by the structure of my mind.

In respect to biology, I am poor enough not being able to formulate a stable concept of life. Thus, I am not equipped to reach psychology, social sciences and an ongoing research project regarding mind and spirit. I am just one of some more very young kids in the universe.

 last year 

Speaking about Oriental medicine, I meant first of all their holistic approach to diseases. They are not aimed at treating a specific disease or organ. They view a person as a whole. In other words, we can conditionally assume that they are moving from the whole to the particular.

Traditional European medicine pays a lot of attention to symptoms, individual organs and systems. They study people by their corpses. But a living person is not only his living organism. I think you know what I mean.

Yes, I completely agree with your reasoning. The trouble is that to study the world, we use only the capabilities of the intellect, the mind. I dare to assume that these possibilities are limited initially. "...my mind is not able to grasp the whole." "you're damn right.
On the scale of the universe, we are not even grains of sand))

 last year 

For some reason I liked it with honeycombs :)

@udabeu denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@udabeu thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66103.77
ETH 3554.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11