Little harvests & garden progress

in WORLD OF XPILAR8 months ago

t1.png

During the past few weeks I have been enjoying harvesting my small cherry tomatoes - they are really delicious and I have been eating them every day. The taste is so much sweeter than any bought in the grocery stores. These were grown from heirloom seeds and have grown so well in my containers - I sowed the seeds directly into the various pots in good organic soil, fed them with organic fertilizer, worm tea and compost. The containers get full sun throughout the day.

tomatoes.png

My Crystal Apple heirloom cucumbers are coming along nicely and have produced many flowers. I have been watching the bees that have been flying around my other plants and willing them to go and pollinate these flowers as they seemed to be totally ignoring them. Then yesterday I spotted a bee burrowing into a flower! Now the game was on and more bees came and started to visit the cucumber flowers.

You probably think that it is crazy to get excited about something like this, but as this is the first time that I am attempting to grow this variety of cucumber, I am totally thrilled. Fingers crossed that I shall get some cucumbers soon.

cucumber.png

For me it is always so exciting to try new things in the garden! You never know how it will go! Gardening can be very addictive once you start and it is even more fun when you try new things. My gardening journey was started by a very dear friend of mine when she moved into her first home - her enthusiasm was catching and before I knew it, I was taking cuttings and plants from her to put into my own new garden. Yes, I had some failures, but on the whole, there were many successes. The bug had bitten me and it is still with me - wherever I have lived, I have made a garden and that is a nice thought.

🌳🌳🌳

Thanks for reading!

image

To nurture a garden is to feed not just the body, but the soul.

ALL PHOTOS ARE MINE
ALL WRITING SHARED IS MY OWN UNLESS I CREDIT A SOURCE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37