Just a few Garden Tips

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

ilo.png

There are people that have never tried gardening and this is sad. Many feel that they don't know enough to even try gardening and so give it a miss. Gardening is a journey that one learns along the way - there are no set rules as to how you must tackle it but once started, the benefits are huge. For myself, I have found that on my darkest days - when my mind and emotions are off the chart, gardening grounds me and calms me. There is something about working with plants and soil that has a huge impact on us - and it is good exercise for the body. The other day I saw a quotation that really resonated with me:

"The person that plants a tree knowing that they will never still be around to sit beneath it, - this person understands life".

The world has changed so much over the years and I feel that we are losing touch with nature - I wish more people realized that hardening heals. With that said, I thought I would share some gardening tips for those of you who do like to spend time out in nature and reap all it's rewards.

Once the growing season really kicks off, gardeners get very busy, but sometimes knowing a few tips can make a huge difference, so here are a few of mine.

fffff.png

Snails

We have these little visitors and if left un checked, they can cause havoc in the garden. I do not use poisons in my garden and find the following methods work well. Take the outer leaves of a cabbage and place on the lawn in the evening - the snails love them and in the morning you turn over the leaves and there you will find many snails having a cabbage party - just lift up the leaves and dispose of them. If you are a beer drinker, place a few shallow bowls filled with beer in amongst your plants and this will attract the snails and slugs - you can then dispose of them.

Tea Bags

Don't throw these away - keep them and dry them out and then you can use them to put into your pots instead of drainage chips.

Seed Sowing

Some seeds are very fine and it can be difficult to sow them evenly - just take some coarse river sand mixed with compost and mix your seeds into this and then sow into the garden.

Roses

Rose lovers often find that their plants get infected with red spider mite especially during very hot weather. To prevent this simply place your sprinkler underneath the plants so that the foliage gets watered from beneath.

Brown Grass Patches

Brown patches on the lawn is normally caused by the lawn caterpillar - just make a soapy solution and pour over the area - the caterpillars will all float to the surface and can then be disposed of.

Yellowing Plants

This can be a lack of magnesium in the soil - sprinkle some Epsom Salts around the plants and water well and then repeat after a couple of weeks until the leaves have changed back to a healthy green color.

XXX

I hope you find some of these tips useful!

🌳🌳🌳

Thanks for reading!

image

To nurture a garden is to feed not just the body, but the soul.

ALL PHOTOS ARE MINE
ALL WRITING SHARED IS MY OWN UNLESS I CREDIT A SOURCE

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing such an awesome post
@tr33oflife

You have received a 100% upvote, resteem and a feature in our latest LuvBug Blog Curation post!

HAVE A LOVE-FILLED DAY!!

With hugs from...

image.png

Great tips! I had heard about the tea bags and snails before, otherwise I know very little about gardening, though I do think I would actually enjoy it, especially growing veggies etc and like you say, it's good exercise and good for the soul - that sounds good to me! Thanks for sharing 😊

It is really addictive once you get started! I hope you do :) Thanks for reading and for sharing your thoughts.

especially growing veggies etc

That is very rewarding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28