Beautiful Blues

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

beautiful blues.png

When it comes to color in the garden, I must say that the color blue is one of my top favorites. Although I like many other colors in my garden, blue always stands out for me. Many people have a color theme - everything white or white and blue or blues and purples - I am more of a "fruit salad" type of person with many different colors all mixed up together.

However, getting back to the color blue.

I thought that I would mention some of my favorite blue flowers. My photo shows the gorgeous lobelia - this is an annual which appears every season in one of my containers as I always let it self seed. It is great for containers, hanging baskets or as an edging on a border and enjoys plenty of sunshine.

pretty blue.png
Lobelia - This is my photo

Then there are the lovely blue irises - lovely and elegant in a mixed border.

16_Iris_versicolor_Blue_iris_2.webp
Blue Iris image source

A really hardy blue plant is the Plectranthus - so easy to grow, spreads well and makes a great ground cover or living mulch. This plant is used extensively here along road sides as it is very drought tolerant and looks great when planted in mass.

Plectranthus-neochilus.jpg
Plectranthus image source

Delphiniums are very striking for the back of a border because they are nice and tall and are a wonderful cut flower for your vases.

delphinium_blue_sensation_pdeb_600x.webp
Delphiniums image source

Convolvulus is another spreading plant with delicate blue flowers which looks lovely in containers or as an edging plant.

img_2622.webp
Convolvulus - image source

I could go on and on, but these are a few of my favorites and I wish I had all of these growing myself, but unfortunately I don't. Another lovely one which I forgot to mention which is in my header design is the hydrangea. Those are beautiful too. What are some of your favorite flowers?

🌳🌳🌳

Thanks for reading!

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37