Digital image for the day (writing story competition (108) contest by @xpilar.....LESSON FROM THE SUNSET.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians and all wonderful people here in the WORLD OF XPILLAR here is my entry for the writing story competition 108, inspired by the digital image of the day by @xpilar.

This contest is open to all Steemians and for a guide on how to join, find contest here.


LESSON FROM THE SUNSET.

gPCasciUWmEwHnsXKML7xF4NE4zxEVyvENsPKp9LmDaFv4XBW7Y47ksGsTSJ4JyMhm17eJc3aM1BMtM7kVz7U5sXxZQUBNFr9fzvpuc5QMLDG89FQTXynhQ9bAStCDqNk9sFmcsHAxQ3PeqjDx.jpeg

digital image of the day by @xpilar

It was a very hot day in the middle of the summer season, the day was very very hot, it was as if the last person that went into hell forgot to shut the gates and now all the heat from hell was let loose on earth and it's inhabitants.

Marcus Aremu was sitting in his Penthouse office and even the air conditioner seemed ineffective in keeping the heat at bay. The old man was troubled but not by the heat, his troubles went deeper, he was lost in thought.

The buzz of the intercom interrupted his thoughts; "Sir your son is here", Chioma's voice echoed over the intercom piercing the eerie silence in the office. Before he could respond, the door opened and in walked Tunde his son.

Hi dad, he greeted his father and after a banter of pleasantries, Marcus was suddenly back to business mood. Sit down son, he said. I know you had a good time in the States and I am also proud you graduated top of your class, I mean who wouldn't be, but now you are back in Nigeria to take over the family business as I retire.

Look around you son, I have built an empire and that is what I am handing over to you, but you must understand that reality is different from what you were thought in business school, I know you have been fully prepared, but as my last duty here as CEO, I want us to go on a ride together.

So father and son headed out for a ride, Tunde never knew where they were going, along the way they talked about a lot of things especially the heat and the effect of global warming, after about an hour the driver pulled up at the Aremu's waterfront mansion in their village just as the sun began to set.

Dad what are we doing here, why did we come to the village? Tunde asked. Marcus smiled, this is your root and that is why I have brought you back here. He walked towards the back of the gigantic mansion and his son followed, behind the house was a lake set in between two hills on the other side.

Son, I grew up playing on this sands, but then the beauty of the sunset never ceased to amaze me, that was why I bought this very parcel of land and set up this mansion here because i want to see this scenery even as I fade to my grave.

Now son. look around you. what do you see? Tunde looked at the sight before him and said: "I see true beauty, the surreal beauty of nature".

Yes my son the sun set beyond the hills is truly a beauty to behold and I am glad you love it, but you see, it was this same sun that was scorching us a few hours ago, we were just talking about how harsh the heat of the sun was a few moments ago, yet here we are now celebrating the beauty of the sunset.

Tunde my son, as you go into life, as you take over the empire I have laboured so hard to build, always remember that there will be adversity, there will be harsh times, there will be times when everything would seem rough and working against you just like the scorching sun with all the heat it brought, but also remeber my son, that at the end of it all there's beauty to be celebrated.

Learn from the sunset, do not quit when the sun is at its peak and scorching, always see it through because only then can you celebrate the beauty of the sunset.

Walt Disney once said: "a flower that blooms in adversity is the rarest and the most beautiful of all". So once again my son be strong in adversity because at the end there is beauty in adversity.

Tunde stood there looking at the sunset but this time not just from the plain ordinary veiw but from a whole new perspective, and after a few minutes of father and son standing there speechless looking at the beautiful sunset beyond the hills casting its golden glows on the calm waters of the lake, Tunde turned to his father and said: "dad I am ready to step into your shoes" and the old man smiled a knowing smile, he has thought his son the lesson from the sunset.



I want to specially appreciate my friend @chrisdsteemsport for telling me about this contest.
I also appreciate the following Steemians who their works have been a great inspiration to me, thanks to @xpilar @davidad @dobartim, @papa-pepper

Until next time have fun.

THANKS FOR READING

Sort:  

Wow...@the-patriarch, I jealous your smart creativity here, you really made a good post.
Jesus!! so amazing.....I mean you did well (round of applause to you 👏👏)

Keep it up!!

@prolee cares

Hola amigo!! coool lo hiciste bien, fue una historia muy interesante!! @jlvillamizar te apoya, saludos;-)

 3 years ago 

An Incredibly Great Story

Thank you @the-patriarch

You are welcome Sir.
I am glad you enjoyed it.

Please how do i become a member here, I am already subscribed but not yet a member

 3 years ago 

now you are a member :)

Yaaàaaaaaay thank you so so much Sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38