You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Memory of Those Who Influenced Us!

in WORLD OF XPILAR8 months ago

Very interesting, I would never have thought that you would be somebody with a short attention span- unless the thing demanding your attention would be considered boring! Which would be the natural reaction!

With the expectation of earning rewards here, it’s too easy to forget that for most of the life of the internet, blogs were purely for enjoyment of the author and their readers. Which they still should be but this has gotten lost somewhere along the way.

Do you think that you get the same enjoyment now than you did 20+ years ago?

Sort:  
 8 months ago 

It does surprise some people... I'm actually one of the most scattered individuals on the planet; pretty much always had been. Even when I was a kid and youngster I never got particularly good at any sport because I insisted on being part of seven different things. Never made any first teams, but was a passable substitute to many.

Writing/blogging has always primarily been for the enjoyment of it, as far as I am concerned. Whereas I am inspired by those who monetize well, I never was in a position to do so; always had too many bills... and an ex-wife with a shopping addiction! But I'm grateful to be part of this community and being able to build a small "savings account" while doing something I really enjoy.

In a sense, I enjoy it more today because I care less about pleasing an audience... I just write about "random things" that pop into my head.

 8 months ago 

I think you've got it sussed! I recently saw an interview with an author of a successful book - he wrote for an audience of one.

If somebody's inherently interesting (which you appear to be 😉), then the "audience" will come. If that particular author started writing what the audience wanted (or at least what they think they wanted), he wouldn't want to write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45