Sort:  
 last year 

Oh, but that's your school to blame, not old good Bill, isnt it?
(personally, I love him by hear already for one immortal quote -- 'A Plague On Both Your Houses' - and he would stay there even if he would not have created any other stories).

 last year 

I probably do blame my school for introducing me to him and forcing me to study him. I suppose if they hadn't done so, I probably wouldn't hate him. Because I wouldn't have been forced to endure any of his literature and could have avoided his text until I was of an age that might have been more receptive to him.

Unfortunately, I was scarred as a child and there's no coming back from that.

 last year 

I understand; yes, this is a real problem. I first got acquainted with Shakespeare at my Uni, and also had fine vintage edition of his collected works in my home library (thanx to my Dad). So, the first acquaintance with Sh. went well. But I have similar examples from my high school - the teaching of literature included the 19th century's Russian realistic novel (Tolstoy, Dostoevsky etc) - thats horribly inappropriate stuff to read at the age of 18, until you've got some proper life experience. I would say that hatred (or disgust) for Russian literature and certain names can be the only logical consequence of schooling curriculum built in such a way.

 last year 

I would say that hatred (or disgust) for Russian literature and certain names can be the only logical consequence of schooling curriculum built in such a way.

Yes, that's certainly the feelings I can relate to. Even now, the style of writing is very difficult to follow so you need to be very determined to read and understand it. Which for me, takes the joy out of reading so I would prefer to do something else 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36