You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💬 Promoting WOX's Top Commenters

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

I can use the same criteria that I use for the top commenters 🙂 I've created a profile and written a script to assess the posts based upon certain tags (e.g. the World of Xpilar community tag) and ranks them based upon the number and length of each comment within a minimum set of boundaries.

It also only selects posts that are between 4 and 6 days old for them to be old enough to be low on the page and not so old that the payout's been missed.

I've pretty much written it (it generates the post content) - all I need to do now is generate a post title, the tags, do a calculation on when the profile last posted to that community and then get is to "broadcast" the post.

It's gonna be cool. @icymi - "In Case You Missed It" 🙂

Hopefully it will complement you Blogosphere Magazine (which will appear in my list) and I can also use it for tags across the whole of Steemit. So I can search for "football" and "soccer" and add in other tags, merge the lists together to get the top football posts - I could do this for sport, movies, travel... the deciding factor being that the post has received comments.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This is a great script👍! Now you can make such lists for any category. This is a cool idea. Alternatively, you can make lists for each community using the community tag.

@icymi - "In Case You Missed It"

I definitely missed it😃.

I like your ideas and the amount of those ideas. With you, Steemit becomes more interesting.

 3 years ago 

Thank you - I've written 2 examples already. The one I've posted is a compilation of football / soccer related tags which I'll post in World of Football and I've also written one for World Of Xpilar which I'll post later today. Because it takes posts that are "older" and over a 2 day period, it's designed to have to wait at least 2 days before posting in the same community.

I'm quite proud of it - it took most of the day yesterday to write the script. It doesn't require human intervention (although I'm checking the posts before they're posted for now) and upvotes all of the posts that are in the list.

It also provides a 20% beneficiary to whichever community's being posted in so hopefully the communities will support it too.

 3 years ago 

I'm quite proud of it

I'm proud of you too 😁 It is very good for Steemit and for all of us that you remembered that you are a programmer, not just a football fan, anti-plagiarist and blogger. But despite everything, I miss the gorilla blogger.

How far do you think you are now from writing a proposal? A month, six months, a year?

 3 years ago 

It's hard to say - I've got the components in place to know that rewriting the site is within my skillset so I need to decide how far to take the Proof of Concept. the-mrs-gorilla goes back to work tomorrow so I'll have some time to myself for the first time in 2 years which hopefully means I'll be able to do more.

I'm wondering if I should start hooking more pages together or focus my attention on the community page which I've already started. I'm finding the tag cloud so useful for finding content that I'm interested in, it'll be cool to be able to share it with others.

 3 years ago 

In my opinion, you should focus on the community page. Community pages are the most visited and needed. People are impatient by nature, so it would be good to finish, for example, a community page and show the result to the general public.

 3 years ago 

👍🏼 And I could always hand-off to steemit.com for people to interact with the post to start off with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41