You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Plagiarism and Abuse: Why Be a Copyist if You Can Be an Original?

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

The whole plagiarism business on Steemit has just made me sad. I created @endingplagiarism with the desire for it to stop - criminals shouldn't get paid for stealing. It started well, sc01 would downvote plagiarised content and the community embraced it and joined the fight.

Then sc01 stopped downvoting. The consequence to sharing plagiarised content gone. @endingplagiarism became a significant investment of time without the visible benefits that came with it. Plagiarism increased again and with it, my hope that I could continue making a difference. As chriddi wrote in my most recent, and final @endingplagiarism article:

we'll all remain "private detectives" that the big scoundrels will laugh their heads off at.

The legacy will remain - people more aware of something that they'd either turned a blind eye to or simply didn't notice. But for me, it was never enough.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It saddens me, too... heck, I'm horrified when I discover that I inadvertently rewrote one of my own articles from 10 years ago!

I'm just loath to go about my business and not pay attention, resigning myself to a "maybe this is as good as it gets" attitude. Surely... we can do better? Too many people concerned only with making a few more pennies now, while totally disregarding the long term impact of their actions...

 3 years ago 

I'm horrified when I discover that I inadvertently rewrote one of my own articles from 10 years ago!

Ha ha. I think you'll be forgiven for that 😆

I'm just loath to go about my business and not pay attention, resigning myself to a "maybe this is as good as it gets" attitude. Surely... we can do better? Too many people concerned only with making a few more pennies now, while totally disregarding the long term impact of their actions...

I understand the sentiment and I know that the Steemit community as a whole can do better... it's a challenge of how though without Steemit itself doing more. Which it won't do.

There is still a lot of activity which isn't seen - in WOX in particular we spend a lot of time checking things behind the scenes so that we have our little "haven of cleanliness". And I occasionally get sucked in to other communities (Crypto Academy at the moment and community of the month applications) where the rewards for the scams are more significant.

The time investment is significant and the motivation to continue at an all time low - I appreciate that you appreciate the effort as I know that the other moderators who contact me do 🙂

Don't know that why @steemcurator01 didn't took interest in it otherwise it was the need of hour to free from all kind of fraud/scams from this blockchain.
Day by day plagiarists are increasing and no one is there to gave them👎 downvote.. sad but true !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44