🏖️ Mini-Break

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

I think that in my 2+ years on Steemit, this is my first post written on a phone rather than my computer so apologies for all typos and autocorrect… which reminds me that Apple are going to stop autocorrecting “ducking” at some point. A blessing for all you rude “aunts” out there.

I digress, as usual.

This weekend, to celebrate Father’s Day (daddy’s day), we’ve headed down to the Dorset / Devon border to stay at the-gorilla’s-mum’s caravan…

IMG_4016.jpeg

I don’t really understand why it’s called a caravan, you’d struggle to hook it up to the back of you car and drive it somewhere else! But it’s called a caravan nonetheless.

Going anywhere with 2 young children tends to be quite stressful - it’s a nearly 4 hour drive, not helped by a 2 year old vomiting in the back and the major road closed overnight for maintenance. But despite that, the journey wasn’t too bad.

Then, the sleeping arrangements aren’t ideal either, the 2 year old in with me and the 5 year old with the-mrs-gorilla. Which resulted in a better night’s sleep for me than usual!

Perhaps strangely, the smaller living space leads to better behaviour from our children now. I still remember the first time we all went away and coming home thinking “why would we go somewhere smaller, without the home conveniences and taking all of our stress with us?!” Things are definitely better now.

I even found an appropriate colouring book and I had the good sense to bring my colouring pens with me.

IMG_4011.jpeg

So I’ve been working on what would probably be @kiwiscanfly’s favourite page…

IMG_4012.jpeg

My 5 year old decided that he’d colour Chase in and I’d take Marshall. I’m always impressed with how long children are happy colouring in for. Not my child though. I enjoyed myself and despite me not sharing my steps to complete it, I assure you that the colouring is mine.

IMG_4023.jpeg

I’ve still got a few bits to finish off, like Marshall’s paint which I’m planning to do in tartan (Scotland’s most popular paint colour).

Coming here is a nice break and I look forward to seeing what my family has planned for me tomorrow.

For now though, I’m going to sit on the porch and wait for the little bunnies to hop past. Is 11:30 too early for a beer?

Nah. The pubs are open!

image.jpg

As soon as I took that picture, it started to rain. You can’t beat a holiday in England.

Sort:  

I look forward to seeing what my family has planned for me tomorrow.

Big big surprise!! Birthday 🥳 🎉

Is that Shandy in your hand?

 last year 

Ha ha, not birthday but a day created by card companies called Father’s Day.

It was a little beer. A “stubby”. In the hope of a moment of relaxation which failed to materialise!

 last year (edited)

Ha ha, not birthday but a day created by card companies called Father’s Day.

🥲🥲 yeah

Holidays are wonderful moments especially the ones spent outside our comfort zones. New experiences, new feelings and a refreshed ideas.
Haha, I've got the chance to see your skin color, perhaps your face will show someday. I am awaiting that.

Mrs Gorilla's caravan looks great! Thank you for sharing

 last year 

Haha, I've got the chance to see your skin color, perhaps your face will show someday. I am awaiting that.

Ha ha. You could save all of the little snippets of my body parts and slowly photoshop them together into a complete person. I'm fairly sure that I shared of photo of me from behind once although you'll do well to find it 😆

It is nice to be out of cities and have such a small caravan park. Looks nice though. I can understand you very well when you say that your little one was sick, I also have motion sickness and always have the tablets against before any journey. At least you had a nice rest over night after driving. Enjoy your time :)

 last year 

It’s nice to get away and forget about all of the usual chores (that will be waiting for us when we get home).

I feel for you getting travel sick, it must put you off travelling by car? I’m hopeful that the little one will grow out of it otherwise it’ll put us off!

Have you got any holidays planned?

When I drive myself, then I have no problem with motion sickness maybe very concentrated, so once your little is 17 buy him a car :)

I prefer to sit on back seat and sleep the whole way of the journey. Yes, will have 4 weeks from mid-July back to Germany , very excited about that :)

 last year 

By the time my little one’s 17, his car will probably be driving itself 😆🤔

4 weeks will be a great break away from everything. Not long to wait… 🧘‍♀️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37