🚘 Eastbourne Seafront Soapbox Race 2021steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

IMG_9846.png
All images are my own unless referenced

Last Saturday (25th September) was Eastbourne's first ever Soapbox race and being fortunate enough to live within walking distance of the seafront, we decided to take the-toddler-gorilla and the-baby-gorilla down to take a look (but mostly because I wanted to see it). The event was supposed to take place last year but due to the same issues that the entire world has been facing, it was postponed.

IMG_9847.png

The course was fairly short (1/4 mile) and contained 2 chicanes, 2 jumps and a couple of corners - since it was the first time the event was run, it wasn't too busy and we were able to position ourselves in a few different spots.

When we got there (the event lasted all day so we arrived about half way through), we found ourselves at the start which was as good a place as any to begin.

The first soapbox we saw was being driven by Bowzer (who had removed his shell) and it appeared that he was kidnapping Princess Peach...

IMG_9842.png

Initially, Mario and Luigi didn't seem too bothered by this but they were soon in hot pursuit...

IMG_9844.png

Our next stopping point was the 1st jump, quietly hoping I might see a total wipeout but it wasn't to be - in searching for some highlights on YouTube, I did find one along with a few highlights...

Source

My favourite was by the Eastbourne Bonfire Society which was the smoke filled soapbox in the video above - leaving a trail of smelly smoke and with an impressive jump, they were a highlight of our day.

IMG_9851.png

At the end of the course, in the "Pits", you could go and see the soapboxes and sit in them if you wanted to.

We were only there for a couple of hours which the-toddler-gorilla absolutely loved and was left wanting to see more "race cars" so if there's a soapbox race coming to a town near you, I'd highly recommend paying it a visit. If this article isn't enough to convince you, then check out some of these greatest soapboxes...

Source

Having watched this video with the-toddler-gorilla, we got sucked in to watching more and more (probably for at least an hour) and laughed so much that I cried. I could've included half a dozen or more videos here and I hope that the same happens to you 😂

Sort:  

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

I think this is the second time I've "seen" the-toddler-gorilla(or maybe that's not him). You guys got the same hair color?🌝

 3 years ago 

I think the hair I've got left is slightly darker - the ones that aren't grey that is 🙂

😄😄 a nice way to put it.

 3 years ago 

I'm at peace with my fate.

✌🏽

 3 years ago 

That's so much fun👌 It seems that you were lucky with the weather too and maybe it didn't rain while it was on. I've seen it on the telly and I will definitely be quite happy to watch it live and photo it 💁‍♀️ Hopefully I will get the chance to one day. Thanks for sharing @the-gorilla

 3 years ago 

Very true, I hadn't thought about the weather. It's rained pretty much non stop since then!

I think you'll have to wait until next year for the next one in London - I can't be sure though. It looks like the London ones are very busy!

 3 years ago 

It rained a lot indeed ☔️ including today, three times already over here in London.

Hope there will be one 🚘 in London. To be honest I haven't seen anything as busy as before the pandemic around here. Not even the train stations on a Friday evening just after work. Rush hour isn't a thing anymore but you've not heard me complaining at all 😜

they are very funny !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63