🎨 DALL-E Art CreationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

image.png
Image Created using DALL-E

Having been mildly entertained that ChatGPT doesn't like Donald Trump, I commented to @peppermint24 that I was disappointed ChatGPT wouldn't draw me a picture. Little did I know, ChatGPT has a sibling that was designed to do just that - DALL-E!

Prompted by as many, or as few words as you feel like sharing, DALL-E will generate an image to your specification and subsequently allow you to generate variations of whichever image you like the most. It even allows you to upload your own pictures and will subsequently generate 4 variants.

image.png
☝️ A somewhat bizarre variant of the-toddler-gorilla

As you can see from the image above, it does some things better than others. My original image had a similar background but the-toddler has been replaced by what appears to be a completely random child in a random outfit.

Having pissed about with it for about an hour, I've discovered that I only get 50 Free Credits which is unfortunate and I wish that I hadn't created abominations like this:

image.png
☝️ I think I told it to change the child in the original photo into a Gorilla

Separator-blue.png

👍 Things It Does Well

It seems to be very good at cartoons. When prompted to "Draw a cartoon of a man carrying 10 dogs", I was provided with the following 4 variants:

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

Having said that, whilst proof reading, I've realised that none of the images have 10 dogs.

It's also seems to be fairly good with 3D renders ("3D render of gorilla using a computer"):

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

I also created a "high resolution 3d render of a lava lamp in the window of westminster":

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

Which I also thought was a fairly decent effort.

The other thing that I found interesting is that you could ask it to paint something of your choosing in the style of your favourite artist. In my example, I asked for "A framed painting of a gorilla by Doug Hyde" and whilst I've included this in the "Things It Does Well" section, the rather cool output is some way from what I'd consider to be Doug Hyde's style:

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

When asking for a "Painting of a dog by Doug Hyde", an animal that Doug Hyde has produced in the past, one of the outputs was particularly good:

DALL·E 2023-02-06 13.41.32 - Painting of a dog by Doug Hyde.png
Separator-blue.png

📈 Things That it Could Do Better

It seems to struggle to display locations and faces of people. Whilst my Donald Trump request was said to violate their Content Policy, it did try to create a "Photograph of Harry Kane celebrating a goal on Mars":

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

Whilst I quite like the 2nd image, Harry Kane, it is not.

Once again, I tried another variant - "Photograph of Harry Kane celebrating a goal on Mars in the style of Doug Hyde, digital art" which I thought generated a better style of image but there was no discernible resemblance to Tottenham's all-time record goalscorer.

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

As for locations, this is its attempt to "draw a 3d model of a gorilla scoring a goal at Camp Nou (Barcelona)":

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

There's also no request for the Gorilla to be carrying a walking stick.

I also tried to create a "Photo of an Arsenal fan crying at Goodison Park" and whilst the result looked like something you might find on Shutterstock or Getty Images, it's (obviously) not an Arsenal fan nor is it Goodison Park.

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

As you can see, I played with it quite a lot and a couple more examples before bringing this article to a close...

I thought I'd test how good it was at creating a movie poster, with my "Harry Potter and The Raiders of the Lost Ark" mashup in mind. The most successful input ("Harry Potter and The Raiders of the Lost Ark" movie poster, digital art") produced the following:

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

Whilst I thought that the imagery was pretty cool, the random text ruined it somewhat so if I tried to create something like this again, I'd add the text afterwards using Photoshop. It's also worth noting that I didn't crop any of these images - they're resized to fit this post but no part of each image has been removed. This highlights another limitation - all of the images created are square (1024x1024) and trying to define a different resolution doesn't seem to change anything (although I've not read any guides so it might be possible).

The text is where I felt particularly let down though. I asked DALL-E to create a logo for Steemit, first as an oil painting and then with the simple request "Steemit Logo". Whilst the choice of palette is pretty good, it's not the greatest output unless there are plans for a rebrand and a move away from the "Steemit" name:

DALL·E-2023-02-05-20.28.png

Footer-Top-blue.png

💭 Final Thoughts

I thought it would be cool to start using DALL-E as a novel way for creating images for my Steemit content. Despite some of the output being fairly poor, with a bit of trial and error, I'm sure that it can generate something that I'd be happy to use. It's also quite good fun seeing what it comes up with and which words (e.g. Poo) prompt it into a content violation.

The downside with this approach though is that I've nearly used all of my 50 Free Credits and I'll need to wait another month before getting another 15 (you get 15 credits for Free each month after the initial 50). I could buy more credits but that's not how I want to spend my money.

Sort:  

Hey man, it's been a while. You good?

 last year 

All good here, thanks. The little ones are now 2 and 5 years old so things are a bit easier at home now. My beloved Reading got relegated though so plenty of new grounds to visit.

How are things with you? You must have finished your studying now and be looking for a job?

Oh, the baby is 2 already 🥺. Time really flies by fast.
And Reading, poor Reading. I just hope they do better in the League one and come back soon. Must be hard to always go to the stadium only to get a loss.

I'm good too, thanks. Yeah, I'm done studying now. But we graduates do a one year service for the nation before proceeding. It's kind of like an internship. It's going pretty well at the moment. I'll be ending this year and hopefully get a new job soon

 last year 

Yeah, he's quite a character now. He's got to be one of the funniest people I know. And occasionally, the most annoying!

I don't go to watch Reading much any more. I tend to only go to grounds that I've never been to so I don't think I've watched a match this year, other than on telly and that was awful! The last couple of away games I've been to weren't very nice either. The atmosphere in football grounds is far more aggressive than it was pre-covid and I don't think it's particularly safe at the moment. Eastbourne Borough's a nice place to go though. I took our 5-year old earlier this season and he found it boring.

But we graduates do a one year service for the nation before proceeding.

Is that military service or something different?

I took our 5-year old earlier this season and he found it boring

😅😅😅waste of time. I hope it gets better for Reading

No, it's not military service. Ideally, you work at a firm/industry based on the program you did at school; but it's not always the case, you can get posted anywhere it doesn't matter. You just have to serve for a year

 last year 

That sounds pretty good - hopefully doing something that's relevant to your career and getting some valuable experience in the process. I guess that's the idea anyway!

Absolutely!

Interesting experiment.

And yes .. Dall-E is terrible with text! Maybe intentionally created this way .. to pave way for some paid version upgrades in the future

 last year 

Ha ha - it wasn't intended as an experiment. I just got a little carried away with my messing about!

I think that they've already got a decent model with monetising it. The 50 goes fairly quickly when you mess around like I did and then 15 is just a nice way of keeping people interested. I was tempted to buy more credits.

This method also works well for anybody wanting to build apps based upon their API as presumably, developers will also be buying lots of credits. So they probably don't need an alternative paid version (although the possibility's there).

Actually was wishing their paid version has more functionality .. like higher resolution images .. variations of 2 or more previous generated images ... etc ..

Well then again .. may be a little to greedy to wish for those for now .. given that this space is still in it's infancy :)

AI is taking over almost every aspect of life, making it easier to work. I am glad I could share some interesting pictures with you.

in the case where it gave more dogs than the number required is funny. I guess it wanted to provide you with extra

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59