💬 Promoting WOX's Top Commenters

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

image.png
Source 1,Source 2 & Photoshop

Another 2 weeks have passed and it's that time again to announce WOX's Top commenters but before I do, I'd like to promote an initiative called #penny4thoughs which compliments this "contest" nicely.

Separator-blue.png

#penny4thoughts

@penny4thoughs is an account that was created (not by me) to automatically share a percentage of an author's rewards to people who make worthwhile comments on a post. For this post, I have set a 20% beneficiary to @penny4thoughts which means that 20% of the author rewards will go to commenters. It doesn't just go to anybody who adds "Great post", it's distributed according to the comments that the author (me) upvotes. So if I like your comment and upvote it, you won't just receive the upvote from me, but also a percentage of my post rewards.

It's a great idea and I hope that some of you will consider using it. In time, if the #penny4thoughts posts are promoted, I expect to see a lot more engagement (and upvotes) to those posts which will subsequently see even more people want to share their rewards - community spirit at its best.

Separator-blue.png

King / Queen Commenters

Now back to our commenters and can you guess who's top of the charts? I don't need to tell you.

@serap came very close to earning herself the top spot but was narrowly pipped to the line by the same person as usual. Whose username I don't need to mention.

I suspect this is the last time that @o1eh will be topping the comments charts due to the ongoing situation in his homeland - for the 2 weeks prior to the commencement of World War 3, he continued to be active and remains our King Commenter.

Whilst I expect @o1eh's comments to decrease, assuming that it does, his crown will remain.

Therefore, these 3 users will continue with their delegation for a further 2 weeks.

👑💬 Queen Commenter - @petface - 1,000 Delegation
👑💬 Queen Commenter - @serap- 500 Delegation
👑💬 King Commenter - @o1eh - 500 Delegation

Separator-blue.png

Top Commenters

The last time I spoke to @nithku, she was waiting for her computer to receive a new power supply. I can only assume that this didn't end well as she has now been inactive for 24 days and for now, will be dropping out of our team of 💬 Top Commenters. I hope that she returns soon 😟

In @nithku's place comes a user who has recently increased her activity in WOX and the chances are you have come across her great posts or comments - @ozenozge

Welcome to our Team of 💬 Top Commenters @ozenozge.

This means that our 7 Top Commenters for the next 2 weeks are...

@esthersanchez
@ezuntimmy
@mariita52
@ozenozge
@romanie
@ronthroop
@to-tru

As always, I'm interested in hearing nominations to join our team of Top Commenters so if you'd like to nominate somebody for me to take a closer look at next time around, please mention them in the comments. Please be sure to only nominate people who are active within WOX.

Also, let me know what your thoughts are and on #penny4thoughts and you might earn a penny for them.

Separator-blue.png

As always, thank you to everybody who contributes to this community irrespective of whether I've mentioned you in this post.

image.png
Source

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I want to congratulate everyone and thank you all for being around and giving comments in our great community
And many thanks to @the-gorilla who started this project

 2 years ago 

Greetings All. I think I heard my name or actually I didn't. Thank you ever so much for announcing the Top Commenters @the-gorilla It is fantastic how this initiative showed me the right way here on the platform and reassured me that I belong in the WOX community. I love being an influencer and supporting the contributors both people I normally communicate with and some whose posts just caught my eye.

Very well done @serap It is lovely having you around. I am glad that @ozenozge who I have interacted with already, of course, joined the team. I am pretty sure that she will enjoy being one of us and just have fun being active here. I do miss @nithku though. I admit that a few times I checked whether she has posted something. I do feel for @o1eh and I hope that he and his family stay safe. I admire him for still hanging around here despite the current madness.

First time I hear about #penny4thoughts so thank you for also bringing this option to our attention. I do like the sound of it and that the author remains in control of selecting the comments that deserve to be awarded. This will actually filter those who are just after the penny and put little to no effort in writing a reply.

 2 years ago 

Congratulations to all of you :) It's exciting to hear that I'm getting so close to the top queen :D @petface deserves to be at the top :) @o1eh, I congratulate you and I am proud of you for keeping in touch with Steemit in these difficult days and for your strong and decided attitude. @ozenozge it's great to have you among us :) @nithku I hope you get back to us as soon as possible.

Thank you so much @the-gorilla for your commenter review :) The idea of #penny4thoughs will be an attractive surprise to interested and good commenters. At the same time, it will encourage capturing the ambiance of genuine and sincere dialogue :)

 2 years ago 

Thank you ever so much @serap It does mean a lot when you say it as you are also somebody who works really hard here and is dedicated to the WOX community. I love seeing you posting frequently about your art and bits and bobs from your daily life both of which I find interesting. I do like that you keep growing your own Steem power and support the articles of the rest of the members. Enjoy your weekend dear and just keep being yourself here.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your nice words, my friend :) It was rainy on the weekend, I was at home. I painted and started watching a new series. I can say it was a nice weekend :) Have a great week :)

I wasn't expecting this and I'm very happy to be on this list. I especially congratulate @o1eh for not leaving Steemit in these difficult circumstances. Dear @petface and @serap definitely deserve the queen tag, congratulations to them too☺️

 2 years ago 

Welcome to our commenter team dear Ozge :) Your beautiful posts and lovely comments contribute to WOX so nice to see you here :)

You can’t even say her name!
Well deserved @petface!
No need to write back an treatise on gratitude—though I think you might:) Thoughts to words are your gift. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Now I am worried for @o1eh. I wish him well.

 2 years ago 

Thanks a million @ronthroop Pleasure is really all mine and there is a lot more where all this came from. I simply love being noticed, appreciated and I always crave more attention. I remember being told when I was a kid, modelling that I am not special but I still strongly disagree with this. I feel the very opposite. We are all special, unique and some of us are of interest to more than just their family and friends. This can actually be anybody as long as they enjoy it and feel ready to open up here on the platform which is a safe space. As safe as any place can nowadays be. So not entirely but we like to think so.

I am by the way curious to find out what a portrait of the Top Commenters would look like? I remember you shared a portrait of @the-gorilla so how about a painting of the rest of us? Don't paint it just because I suggested. It is actually boring when people simply do what you tell them. But please do paint us all one day if you feel really inspired and such a painting might make a wonderful addition to your portfolio. Cheers and I can't wait to at least hear about your colourful vision of the ten of us here on the team.

No more commissions! Not even imagined ones:)

I agree, personalities are infinite in their uniqueness and must be expressed. And not just human ones. My cat has me wrapped around her paw all day long. She thinks she is so very special.
Positive thinking/acting works for her. I used to pour dried pellets in a bowl. Now it’s poached salmon for a breakfast side dish.
Positive thinking/acting works for me too. I used to eat groats for breakfast because I was poor. Now I eat groats after coffee because I am rich.
Thank you @petface for your positive thinking/acting person!

 2 years ago 

Your cat is lucky to have you. It is always nice to spoil your pet and it sounds like she deserves every bite of salmon. Talking about fish, salmon quiche is on the lunch menu here at mine this Sunday. So just an idea for you to make yourself too. Then you will both enjoy a salmon meal each. Cheers from a fantastic night out here in central London that started as Dave’s leaving drinks. He is moving to Shrewsbury.

Getting out again in London... We did the same last night. People in bars and restaurants, knocking the virus out of our lives!
No fish quiches for me—I haven’t experienced milk or cream in a year. I know it’s sad. My heart wins the day, though, in matters of wanting to beat on for another couple decades:)

One of Steem's biggest problems is the lack of comments. When we look at social media such as Twitter and Facebook, there are more comments than posts. Projects that encourage comments can be developed. Comment token can be created in Steem-engine.

Greetings @the-gorilla Thanks for the information about these dear Steemians. v What are found in places affected by war. I will keep you in my mind, in my heart and in my prayers. I don't know them, but I know someone who knows them and sees them.
Left them to him.

Thanks for the mention.

Of course, I think including your post in #penny4thoughts is a great idea. It is a support tool.
I have participated in comments on posts that have benefited from this tool, and it is very reassuring that my comments have received some recognition.
Greetings from afar.

Thank you for the mention and for placing me among the first positions @the-gorilla. I will try to continue to do the work to back it up.
A big hug! :)

I really hope that helps the steem universe.
Sometimes it's really sad to see people with 20$ Payout that only do a sketch and write 3 words. Comments can actually really important to see which posts are quality content. Also, curating is a huge driver. I can only talk for my experience, but I mostly stopped posting to steem cause it seems like nobody sees my posts. Would try to take part in the encourage people to comment.

Wow! I' m very busy in commenting on hive-185836 (Deutsch unplugged). To support commenters is a great idea. In my opinion nothing is more community building, than commenting. Stable communities are the gold of any blockchain.
Unfortunally I'm one day too late, for to vote this article. You can help me by an answer…

 2 years ago 

It was interesting that when I first launched the initiative in WOX, I received some replies from people who were hesitant about commenting because it appeared to be something that wasn't welcome! Fortunately, by encouraging more people to comment, the people who like commenting have found each other and the community feels a lot more like a community rather than a stage for people to perform.

There will always be users who post and do nothing else, almost invariably delegating any power that they earn to UpVu. I'm still hoping to find some way of bringing comments more to the fore somehow but with the entire system being built around rewards, this is no easy task.

You will never be able to prevent vote boosters from being used. What you can do with the Steem is allowed. So I don't see a way to prevent such excesses. You can hinder them, but you don't want to make that your profession.

But you can design a front end that consistently hides these providers and instead offers advantages that you never had with Steemit. I'm thinking of tools for professional blockchain participants from the content economy. If you want to change something on Steem, you have to think about how participants from the economy could use the blockchain. I can think of a lot and I don't understand why developers haven't found any answers on this topic for six years.

 2 years ago 

I've accepted that BidBots exist - I don't like them for many reasons and one of my motivations for creating a new front-end is to hide them and their usage (like you suggest).

In the long term, I'm hoping that my front end is more prominent in the world than steemit.com and subsequently, people won't know about delegating to them once they reach 10,000 SP (or whatever target people set themselves).

There are lots of more popular blogging platforms where users get paid nothing and they aren't filled with as much crap as Steemit is. If we can get the new front-end right, we should be able to attract some of these users who will continue posting good content and will be happy with a little bit of money - no matter how small it is.

I just need to find a better way of hiding all of the crap.

...users who will continue posting good content and will be happy with a little bit of money - no matter how small it is.

This is right. But blogging this is not the only purpose of the Steem. Think about companies. Do thy make incentives for their customers on Steem? No! Do they make incentives at all? Yes, for example they are connecting customers to the expencive Payback system or other "tenth-of-a-penny-data-collection machines". Why not collecting STEEM, HIVE or BLURT? Because of the very poor Frontend Steemit.

I just need to find a better way of hiding all of the crap.

This should become one of the functions of any new frontend. Users should be enable to raise fine defined filters. Unfollow and Mute are rough tools only. Users should be enabled to set their own criteria. The user defines what crap is. The developer defines the tools and presettings. You are the very first user of your frontend. So think about how to do it and don't forget to get any feedback you are able to get on the long way of creation.

I just need to find a better way of hiding all of the crap.

You never can find it alone. So you have talk to people and listen what they tell you. The most cases the result will be a huge bundle of work.

The Stinc., always at a loss, threw Steemit on market, cheep in design, poor in function but enough functions for to make money very easy. Very good for whales, the are no active bloggers but very active investors.

Any professional using this starving frontend clearly can see how poor the offers of Steemit are. @Dan and friends always were talking about a mass adaption. I used to laugh about. Real insiders of software design hearing such infantil thoughts laughed about. The wish of mass adaption was always bigger than any will of Steemit or the big players around to pimp up the frontend. They all made their money even without any investment for a better frontend. They called the product "Social Media" but producing greed on the blockchain only.

Off Topic:
Die neue Runde ist gestartet - bitte "verschlafe" den Einstieg diesmal nicht... 😉

The people who like to comment have found each other and the community feels a lot more like a community than a stage for people to perform on.

Both are welcome. This is what the blockchain was created for and that is why it is called “social media”. Imagine how good it is for one on stage to be spotted by a member of a community. This is how an open society works and this is how all Steem-like blockchains should work.

Unfortunately, there are always people who counteract open societies. Socially harmful phenomena such as greed, hunger for power and sick vanity are based on conspiracy, the opposite of social. They produce trolls, serve to plunder the community pool and split or destroy communities, as was just once again well observed on the Blurt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45